It's been a while. #500wordsaday

in #blog4 years ago



image.png

Ref: Pixabay

It's been too long since my last post into the 500 words a day community and it's entirely on me that it has gone this far.

It’s been a whole 14 days since my last short blog and I miss writing on a daily basis. You know how it goes. Life gets busy, (It did get really busy), and you miss one post and say that it’s fine. You will do one tomorrow anyway so one day won’t make a difference. The next day you are really tired and give it a miss to go to bed and before you know it a week has gone by and no posts have been written. This goes for everything in life and the hardest part of stopping is trying to get started again.

I have often written about motivation and consistency of effort but it is really hard to restart after putting down your tools. The best bet for success is to keep going while you are doing well to build upon the strong foundations created from time and effort.

This can be applied to any target and you often see it from people on diets, or trying to get fitter. Everything is going well until it isn’t. You can be eating so healthy; exercising every day and the weight is falling off. Then next thing you know, something happens. An ankle gets twisted; a work shift gets in the way. You take a few days out of the schedule to fix the issue and before you know it, life is back to bad diets and no exercise as the weight reverses.

Luckily my HIVE can’t disappear in reverse but the motivation gets lost and the people buying into your work go elsewhere. You lose that drive and momentum that you have built through your consistency and have to start from a long way back again.
Two week for me is an age compared to last month where I wrote every day. Two weeks felt like four as I thought about writing every day but couldn’t get started. Life was very busy as we had two of the five managers out sick from work including the store manager which put me trying to keep the doors open. There was a lot going on anyway as we set up the xmas stock and I had to hire some new staff as well.
A job that isn’t really under my authority and should be done at a higher level. I don’t mind and have been a part of lots of interview but this was from start to finish. Hope the manager likes his new staff. LOL.

Anyway I need to be up at 3am as we have inventory tomorrow and it needs an early start to get it finished. At least I have accomplished one thing today and that is to get back up on the horse. This week promises to be almost as busy but I will do my best to stay writing daily and clear my mind in the evenings. It feels good to get it down on paper.



Click here for the 500 words community.
Write #500wordsaday now.




500 words image.jpg


Sort:  

There was a lot going on anyway as we set up the xmas stock and I had to hire some new staff as well.
A job that isn’t really under my authority and should be done at a higher level. I don’t mind and have been a part of lots of interview but this was from start to finish. Hope the manager likes his new staff. LOL.

Sounds to me like you are due a flippin' promotion! If you are gonna do all that work and responsibility then you at least deserve to get the wage that goes with it.

Good luck with the stockcount tomorrow! (i'll keep my fingers crossed that there are no complications...)