Dum De Dum De Dum and Other Quarantine Stuff

in #blog4 years ago

Another Day in the Coronapocolypse

So before all this virus nonsense began, a time so many days ago; we were in the process of booking a cruise. All I can say is,

Dodged that bullet!

I was in the middle of shaving my head a few years ago and left a little piece for shits

I even recently purchased a brand new Canon EOS R and got it updated to the latest firmware in anticipation of our travels. My plan was to take some creative shots at our various stops and actually have some new adventures to post about.

Me in front, my cousin in the back. Man, I remember actually liking Christmas.

Instead, I find myself sitting here in the house twiddling my thumbs and looking through old photo albums. I imagine these photos don't mean much to anyone else, but what the hell. I'll share some of them here on my blog for fun!!

Doxie 0117.jpg

WTF Was I Wearing?

I still remember this day.. I was sitting there in my Cross Colours shirt and sagging Dickies, and my dad said "Son! Take that shit off, I want to take a photo"

So he sent me to the bedroom with that dorky ass shirt and pants then made me take this photo. Now it's permanently on the internet because why not.

Rocking that Beat It Shirt and striped socks

That's little ol' me back in 1982. My brother, sister and I all got the same shirt. For some reason there was a period of time in the 80s when it wasn't completely lame to where the same outfit as your friends. Now it looks like you're part of a church cult.

And You gotta love my dad's Daisy Dukes.

It's so weird looking back on some of these old shots. I know it was me, but it's like it wasn't. The memories are so vague and faded. Sometimes I think about how I lived every day of my life for years and years, did so many things.. Went so many places and met so many people. Yet for some reason, I can only remember small bits and pieces.

Trolling some dude on a BBS back in 1989 or so on my friend's blazing fast 486 DX2 66Mhz Turbo

Sometimes the impermanence of things can be really painful. You never know what is going to stick in your memory. Maybe you'll remember some really intense feeling that you had when you got a kiss from someone you liked, or maybe you'll remember something stupid, like a time when you stepped in a mud puddle. It's just so random!

But what can we do, but just live life one day at a time.

Sort:  

Hay , long live the mullet :)

Hehe indeed.

you can still go out - can't you? We are allowed to go for walks here in Vienna, as long as we keep distance from others, and you can walk with your family members.
I am in self-quarantine, but I still go out the odd time to check up on the cops that are supposed to be monitoring, lol
stay healthy!

Vienna, Handelskai, Danube, 4 days ago. However, since then, wearing a mask is mandatory.
IMG_0046web2000.jpg

They are now asking everyone to wear masks, but I'd say only about half the people I see here in Los Angeles are wearing them. Technically, you can still go out for walks, but it is so crowded around where I live that I don't feel very safe going out. They have closed down all of the parks and nice walking spots, which is kind of unfortunate. The problem is that people weren't giving each other space!

I haven't been out of my building more than a few times for weeks now. It's making me crazy! Just trying to ride this thing out. To many people in my town are already infected.

My dad was a freelance photographer growing up so he would always drag us off into the woods for family photos and stuff like that. I write it like it was a pain, but I actually enjoyed it. We had a dark room in the house, so we would develop the film and print the pictures off right there.

That's so cool.. I remember making an oatmeal box camera in middle school and developing the photos. There was something about developing your own film that was really satisfying. Also, you were a bit more careful taking the pictures when you had to do the work yourself developing it!

No doubt! I am sad that I was so young then. I don't think I fully appreciated it like I would now.