Getting our Gringo Hair Braided Down In Honduras

in #blog4 years ago (edited)

Remember When Going On A Cruise Didn't Kill You?

It seems like a distant memory in the pre-corona times, but there once was a time when I didn't cringe in terror when someone stood fewer than 6 feet away from me. In fact, I used to go on cruise ships every chance that I would get.

One thing that we did while on our last cruise was allow this lady in Hoduras to braid our hair. She was pretty insistent, and we had nothing else to do while waiting to get back on the ship.

By the way, the Carnival Glory is the same ship that was recently smashed into by the Carnival Legend. Check it out on youtube

We had just gotten back from zip-lining which was a ton of fun. I'll post about that once I get the photos together. It was a gorgeous day on the beach, and the sun was beating down. This lady was going around telling everyone how amazing their hair would look in braids (of course).

She was super sweet, so we went ahead and gave her the money and sat in the chair. Here is me before:

ntgj5rm0wc.jpg

Too bad our hats were on, so you couldn't see how long the hair was, but you can kind of tell - at least on me. My hair has grown significantly since these photos were taken!

fht0fnorj2.jpg

I'll throw in that shot of a little monkey friend that I made. For some reason, he constantly put his hand over his eyes. I'm not sure if it was training, or some kind of tick.

8fkv7b5uhb.jpg

So getting those tight braids is a painful affair! But I guess you need to pull pretty tightly to get those small braids.

44koc3qzhn.jpg

There's the back of the head after she was done.

qbyg33tt6p.jpg

And there is the front. She had to do it kind of weird because we were trying not to expose my receding hairline. I think it looked better with my bandana on!

ehava8x0dm.jpg

Amanda came out looking much cuter than me, of course. But oh, well!

Because my hair is so fine and not so kinky, the braids really didn't last more than a day or two then I had to start picking them out. It was beginning to look like a rats nest on my head.

Well, it was a bit of fun while it lasted! So just FYI - I've recently been mostly posting goofy personal type stuff in my own blog, while putting my travel adventure content in the OCD community. So if you're thinking 'wtf is this crap', be sure to check out my OCD posts for classical @nuthman goodness.

Sort:  

I've been away for a few days (I think actually over a week) doing battle on Facebook about conspiracy theories. Glad I caught this just in time to still upvote. Talk about fine hair and a rats nest: mine would be more like little rats tails from the start. I never needed a haircut, they break off by themselves when about shoulder length. Always been that way. I used to be a frustrated hippie!

Haha... Facebook is a warzone. Speaking of Facebook, I just noticed my friend Artie is friends with you on there (Art Venti). He and his wife have been friends of ours for many years.

I think it is a requirement if you have long hair that you must get it braided while in the part of the world. I did the same when I visited the Bahamas years and years ago. Did your hair puff up like an afro when you finally took the braids out? Mine did, it was funny AF.

Haha, yeah for sure, you have to go for the braids.

And yes, it was really weird when it came out.. it was like a brillo pad. I have never seen it so frizzy. I wish I had taken a picture! Lol!

That is pretty cool! I think I have been following all of your stuff. I hope I didn't miss any anyway. I can only imagine how much it would have hurt to get those! I haven't had much hair for several years now. I buzz it every week to keep it short!

What a beautiful family you have

In my country we do beautiful braids just like uses,so beautiful on you mua