I DID IT!! Top 100 Bronze League achieved. Next step Top 20?

in #blog3 years ago (edited)

14june 2021 thumb.png

Starting Rank: 1136

Today's session continues the climb via strong nature and fire splinter strategies. Even though I am really lacking in good cards for the other four splinters -- yeah, weak in FOUR splinters -- I am still finding my core combos good enough to give me huge wins.

It feels like bronze league top 100 is all about building a basic collection of good cards and leaning how to play consistently well. I would say even just playing a "B+" strategy with a "C+" level collection is enough to hit top 100.

The biggest thing that helped me so far was watching some of the top ranked matches to see what the best players are using.

021 top battles.png

Researching in this way led me to a few of my biggest purchases of cards -- still quite small by many peoples' standards -- mainly investing in a level 3 flesh golem and wood nymph, along with a level 1 Magi of the Forest. those three cards have been SO GOOD for my rating.

I just never knew Flesh Golem gained the ability to heal itself at level 3. Watching top battles showed me that. It's way easier than looking through EVERY card... finding the good combos is as easy as watching some top battles and looking close at the teams.

Two Highlight Matches

There were two particularly interesting matches to share from today's session.

The first one was an earthquake match where I got destroyed. It was my biggest loss of the session.

https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=57312a57ee14e0edf9763cb706ab35563f911fe4&ref=quixoticflux

022 battle1.png

Here's the problem: Flesh golem dies on turn one!!! I really needed Wood Nymph to be on my team here to provide extra tank heals. As it stands, Flesh Golem's death means that the rest of my team (Sand Worm and Earth Elemental) gets destroyed way too fast.

The opponent has enough flying creatures to not be as threatened by earthquake as I am, since earthquakes don't hit the flying ones. My team just fell apart, by turn two it was clear that I wouldn't make it.

F.

The next match was more fun... since the only splinter allowed was water, I had no choice but to use my newly acquired LOBSTRADOMUS!!

https://splinterlands.com/?p=battle&id=873bb66e3fe0b6f1e72c187656f7a6db4f1dbd28

023 bortus.png

I might have initially underrated Lobstradomus. Despite the silly name and picture, this guy has a ton of tankiness with 9 health AND the shield power. Shield is so strong, SO strong, and 9 health is a lot for a level one card.

It won me this match anyway... I'm a a fan! At first I was worried that I would not have enough damage output to get them, but it wasn't an issue.

I end up at rating 1204, a nice climb up from where I started. That makes me rank 67... wow!! Top 100 achieved. Maybe now Top 20 is in reach, although it would take a lot more matches to get there this season.

020 ending rank.png

It feels good to make progress.

quixoticflux-scribbly.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! - @ashikstd

Well done, congrats.

Congratulations @quixoticflux! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP