An update from Rome

in #blog3 years ago

_DSC0058.jpg
Colosseum

There, for sure, have been times in my life that I have felt better. But my trip to Rome is coming to an end, so I will soon be back to my comfortable home in Amsterdam where I can figure out how I can prevent this from happening ever again.

After my last post, I ran into another man that decided to grope me. I kid you not! This time it was an older man, 75+. It pissed me off so much, that I grabbed his hand and squeezed it so hard until I realized his bones wouldn't survive that... If the man wasn't as old and fragile as he seemed, I would have punched him in the face. What is wrong with these people!! You'd think that an older person would be better behaved and would show more respect for women. I felt dirty and super angry. There is something seriously wrong in Italy and this behavior feels very non-European. Dear Italians: If someone is being friendly to you, that doesn't mean you can just out of the blue grab their boobs, okay?

Anyway... I am still pissed off. I didn't go outside much after it but still had a list of things that I wanted to do/see before I leave. In comes the Christmas lockdown that I didn't see coming. From Dec 24-27, we were not supposed to leave our homes... Suddenly there wasn't "plenty of time" anymore. Since there will be another lockdown after tomorrow for a few days, I did my math and found that I only had like 3 days left to do it all. And when I checked the weather report, it didn't look good. Rain, rain, and rain...

So here I am, my last days in Rome... being tired, not happy, and uninspired. My photos generally disappoint me and totally reflect how I feel (dirty lens, out of focus, boring, etc). I have not seen as much from Rome as I would have wanted to. I am wondering if I should just call it quits and give it another shot in spring or so. Or just give up on Rome completely and find a city that fits me better.

My update? I am still alive and ready to go home. I am cranky and depressed a.f., but will get over it again. I have had fun experiences in Rome before, so I can't just blame this on the city. Please share with me the fun things about Rome so that I want to visit it again in the future!

Sort:  

Ah, some cities give us what we need, some don't - some are kind to us at times, and some are downright assholes. I found it actually QUITE European to be groped on public transport when I travelled there some time ago, particularly Portugal (Lisboa) on the trains where men would just get that little bit too close. Jesus, to be an old man and still get your jollies through making woman uncomfortable?? It makes me angry at the world.

Be kind to yourself - it's a weird time at the moment.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

I am glad you have a great time in Venice and that Venice was much nicer this trip than Rome has been.