My attempt at language immersion

in #blog4 years ago (edited)

Happy July, Hive.

There has been quite a heatwave in Minneapolis. Tomorrow is supposed to get to 96 degrees Farenheit.(yikes)

I have been going to @caffetto for iced coffee during the day, and studying Serbian at night.

Right now, I'm learning verb conjugation in the present tense.

verb conjugation.jpg

I made this image to help me remember these words, as well as to have an image to post.
I made this on photoshop, and I don't know how to make the š in that program, so I didn't conjugate anything to go with "ti".

I'm trying to immerse myself in the language by watching Serbian TV shows.
I was trying to find a movie that I watched a few years back, Dobro Jutro Komšija, and when I looked on YouTube, I found that it is now a series! There are 2 seasons on YouTube, so I watch it as I fall asleep, and I have it on in the background as I am doing other things.
The episodes and dialogue are simple enough that I can follow along. It is really nice to hear the words spoken, and to hear different phrases.



I even heard a new song (Oj, ora je ora je) in episode 2!

In the show, I like Jelka, and Danica reminds me of, and looks like my great aunt.

I hope everyone is making it through heatwaves and riots.
Peace be with you all...

Sort:  

I hope everyone is making it through heatwaves and riots.

Take care!

You too. I think we are having temperatures that you are used to, but with no ocean breeze!