Personal Cloud PR 2

in #blog2 years ago

This references PR

I added documentation on how to run the run-qemu script. I made some modifications from rancher's version. This shows how to use it to create VMs. I'm looking at starting the VMs immutably and automating VM builds. That will be further in the README.


Infrastructure Decisions

Hardware

3x Mac Minis

image.png

K3S

The minis will be used to construct a k3s cluster using k3os. Mac minis are using the M1 chip, so they're running ARM64 instead of x64 architecture. This means, to build x64 architecture software or run k3s as though it's on x64 architecture, I will have to run k3os in a virtual machine.

I included scripts taken from the k3os project in scripts that are used to create the virtual machines on the mac minis. Once k3os is running, they can be configured to run as cluster together.

Using run-qemu scripts

run-qemu is used to start the qemu VM. It is derived from rancher. I include it in this repo to keep my changes documented to what I am working on. To actually run the script you need to do the following

Clone k3os

git clone https://github.com/rancher/k3os

I then edited the script to include my changes for Apple's arm64. After, that I just execute the script with my changes.

DISK_NAME=vda.img MEMORY=14336 ./run-qemu

Cluster Setup

TODO: Show cluster configuration setup using qemu

Sort:  

Congratulations @timesheets! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the July PUM Winners
Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-07 - Winners List
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!