You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cryptosocial by Allen Taylor: You Must Read this Book!

in #blog2 years ago

Yeah I think the total of the ones he listed is close to 80!
I also dont think any are as good as Hive is. Hive seems to have set the bar pretty high for others to achieve.

What would be cool to have would be a way to link them together. Post on one and it gets posted to all the others.

Sort:  

So you're saying you're going to check out all 80 and post reviews here, so that we all get to know?

My stance on social media has always been that I loathe it, therefore I stay off of it.

Hive is and most likely will stay the only exception to this for several reasons. The whole structure is well set up and continues to evolve. Front end user experience is high quality with very good tech support.

In the community itself, so many are willing to help in any way they can. I do not see this kind of helpfulness present on other platforms. There's more a sense of community on Hive generally, especially once one takes the time to get to know people by engaging with them. Additionally, you own your keys. There's a lot of potential for growth with this platform, depending on how people choose to behave. Issues are everywhere in this world, so that is also to be expected on any platform. What is of primary importance, is how one chooses to conduct oneself, to set an example of authenticity and integrity with one's own behaviour.

What would be cool to have would be a way to link them together. Post on one and it gets posted to all the others.

Maybe you could work on that one.

I dont think anything could ever have as good of a community as Hive. But that could be my bias showing too. Lol.
I dont know if I could try all 80+ but I will try some. Thats going to be a part of the new podcast I'm cooking up. Trying to show people out there on the other places what it means and how to be decentralized in social media and other online things.

As for an app to connect these sites together. @spknetwork is showing a lot of promise that there is a way to do this using something called ceramic networks. I dont know much about it other than what I've read in white papers, but it states that it allows for connecting different chains together to cross post.

But there is a lot of barriers to knock out of the way to get the general public's interest and make it easy enough any bonehead can do it. Thats what I'm going to attempt to do. Lol.

Really interesting stuff. It's great you'll talk about that on your podcast. I hope you try out several and let us know what your thoughts are. You win the prize for #1 bonehead, so there's going to be a lot of competition to beat you out of number one spot. 😂

ROFL!

I'll try bashing my head repeatedly against concrete to make it bonier, just to have a chance at the "Bonehead Title".

I've thought the same thing for a while. An Ecency app that is cross-chain and allows you to post the same content to different decentralized platforms. That would be incredible!

Also, I've discovered some others since I put that list together. There are now more than 100 active decentralized social media platforms. I'll be updating the list.