You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Google updated Plus Codes on Google Maps

in #blog4 years ago

I want to parse a hair here. Google did not invent GIS technology, nor did they invent advertisement driven maps (Googles maps are driven by ads). They simply extended their monopoly in search to maps.

Google did create the thing where cars drive along along roads taking pictures of the road. They aren't completely bad, I think people need to avoid the trap of claiming that Google invented GIS.

PS: I used GIS software a decade before Google was created.

I also should reiterate. OpenStreetMap is a open source map project.

Sort:  

I am talking about neither. I am talking about OLC, Open Location Codes, aka Plus Codes, invented by Google Zürich. read about it on https://plus.codes