A Delayed Independence Day Post

in #blog4 years ago

If you are wondering about me. I keep writing blog posts for Hive. I simply don't publish them.

The blog format does not allow people to explore concepts in depth.

For example, I decided to take a picture of a flag for my Fourth of July post.

I listened to some right-wing pundits who wanted to make the flag a divisive political issue.

There are snowflakes on the left who want the flag to be a divisive political issue as well.

The flag is a symob. Conservatives and Progressives seek to use the symbol to create division.

Conservatism and Progressivism are both modern ideologies. They come from the same source. Both sides of the split seek power through division.

I really like the Republic for which the US Flag stands.

Through the years I have wondered what the US Founders think of using symbology to create division.

Personally, I suspect that the founders would recognize a flag as a symbol.

The Founders had an education based on classical liberal arts. It appears to me that they were trying to create a Republic which employed the ideals of discourse, consilience and compromise. I doubt that they would be keen on pundits waving symbols about in efforts to trigger division.

So, I wrote up a post on July 4th and decided not not publish it. The point of the post is that the US Founders lived before the age of modern ideologies. They would not be keen on using symbols to create division.

Unfortunately, I fear that such a thought is too subtle to convey on social media. Sadly, social media is adapted to using symbols and memes to create division. Social media was designed to manipulate people. It was not designed to educate people.

flag.jpg

The picture is of a US Flag mounted on the bridge spanning the Mighty Neff.

Okay, the bridge is more of a culvert. And, for those of you who judge rivers by flow of water: The Mighty Neff didn't flow this year. It only flows in flood years or during really heavy rains.

Sort:  

"US Founders lived before the age of modern ideologies. They would not be keen on using symbols to create division." You right on the money!