Pilot an i8 - BMW Welt

in #bmw6 years ago (edited)

My first experience in a sportcar.

In April, I went for the first time to Germany for a weekend and more exactly in Munich. Thanks to this little trip I was able to drive for the first time a car a much more powerful than usual: the BMW i8. Thanks to the BMW Welt and DriveNow for this little totally free trial. The first time we spend in a typical sporty car we're lost, it really feels like sitting on the ground. During this test I brought up my brother with me. Just a picture to keep memory of this moment, put the belt and start the engine.

The car is a hybrid consisting of a 231hp three-cylinder engine and a 143hp electric motor. With that, we come to a 374hp engine. That is more than twice the power of the car I'm used to driving.

The circuit to follow was very small and oval but I noticed that it was possible to make small accelerations. So I start for these 5 minutes of pleasure on this car. The first two rounds I slowly take them to take my bearings with this monster. Then when I feel ready, in the little straight line, I get the pedal to the floor and give all that the car has! Immediately we hear the engine take over and the sound is just beautiful. On of these problems is it's steering angle quite limited but otherwise it is doing well.

Youtube video of the i8 acceleration :

For this test of 5 minutes, no time to contemplate the interior, I could do it inside the BMW museum where the car is exposed. The interior is sublime. The only aesthetic flaw that I find him is it's rims that are not to my taste, but it's only a subjective opinion.

I was really lucky to have been able to do this test for free and I thank them again, it allowed me to have fun and keep very good memories!






BMW i8
Year
2017
Engine
231hp gasoline engine + 143hp electric motor (374 hp)
Couple max.
570 N.m
Displacement
1499 cm3
Top speed
250 km/h
Dead-stop to 100 km/h
4.4 sec.


My items :
Camera
OnePlus 5T (smartphone)
Lens
Sony IMX 398    - 16Mpx - f/1.7 - 27.22 mm
Sony IMX 376K - 20Mpx - f/1.7 - 27.22 mm