You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photos from Lustau Bodega in Jerez de la Frontera, Spain

in #bodega4 years ago

Looks like a really cool tour. The barrels being black is pretty neat. I've never see that on any tour that I've been on. They've always been a standard oak wood color. Though, I've only ever been on wine tours and they were always in Canada, so I'm not that experienced in Sherry making, to say the least.

Sort:  

I really enjoyed it, and not just because of the 8-10 glasses of sherry that were offered. I wonder if the barrels were originally lighter brown but the level of humidity (the place is dampened daily, or more) and their age has changed the appearance. Thanks for stopping by :)

Hmm, I'm not sure. Could be the humidity. I know in whiskey aging sometimes the barrels are charred first. That could be the same for sherry???