You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Repotting my final Ficus for the year. What a way to end off the year with my roots up in the air...

in #bonsai5 years ago (edited)

Nice work showing the root systems of so many different version of this tree at various stages of growth. Some of those photos were surprising. The tray of trees that got filled with roots from the cuttings goes to show how aggressive the roots will spread and divide if given a good soil content and pot shape. The last tree, I was surprised actually how few roots remained after the soil was removed. Some of the thicker root ends look like they don't want to divide anymore, like they are tired. I wonder if they are dead/spent, or just dormant. Really inspired by the photo of all the aerial roots forming. That tree is loaded with growth energy!

One of these days I am going to have the cuts guts to start trimming and shaping my new ficus. I just can't decide on a style to aim for that will work with it. All of my branches are in a ring fanning upward from the same height where the trunk was cut. The first branch selection can make a big difference for the future shape of the tree. I'm leaning towards forming one branch into a gentle curving trunk, but maybe that's unoriginal.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your comments. Much appreciated. Ficus trees grow very quickly and can take a beating.

When working on Ficus don’t take to long as their thick branches don’t bend easily. They naturally grow up, so bending them down does not work well. Unless you cut a gap in the branch where it enters the trunk. Then the gap fulls the branch will stay in place