Something In The Water - BOOK REVIEW

in #bookreview6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6242_Facetune_03-09-2018-20-42-08.JPG
[Link to my Instagram post: https://www.instagram.com/p/BnUEu5klBz_/?taken-by=insignificant.beauties ]

Hey Steemians, the weeks are flying by really fast now...heading towards Christmas at full speed. I'm most certainly not keeping up. But hey, that's just life...and in the perfect words of Dory...just keeping swimming, just keep swimming...lol.


[Source: https://giphy.com/gifs/dory-finding-just-keep-swimming-FMQzq0nYWgwFO/links]

Something in the Water

by Catherine Steadman

A debut novel by Catherine Steadman. A fast paced thriller that had me hooked from the first page...

3.5⭐️ out of 5⭐️

“Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?

However long you think it takes, double that.

It’s boring. And long. And it has to be done.

I’m not a bad person.

Or maybe I am.

Maybe you should decide.“

~ Something in the Water

Synopsis:

IMG_7057.JPG

My Review:

I really enjoyed this book and I was most certainly invested in the story the whole way through. I mean with an intro like that? About digging graves. I mean you don’t just dig a grave yourself for no reason….

So, how on earth did Erin and Mark get here…
That was my biggest question…
Yes, after Mark loses his job and struggles to find a new job they are thrown off their axes a little, they have to make changes to their wedding and cut their honeymoon short by a week, but they power through and life seems to be full of prospects. They get married and then it happens…they go scuba diving on their honeymoon and they find something…(in the water…dum dum duuuuum)
Life has a lot of choices, some are inconsequential.
Others… life changing.

Life as you know it can change very quickly.

I wonder about my husband and myself. What would we have done in this scenario, what would I have done, what would I have wanted to do?(that is the scariest question) I found myself constantly wondering how I would have dealt with the many situations that they consequently found themselves in. Would I ever even have found myself needing to consider the rest or would my initial decision have been different…

Morality can be a slippery slope and even though I think of myself as a person with high moral standards and even though I’m a law abiding citizen, I most certainly don’t think so highly of myself to think I’m not vulnerable to be dragged down. One thing can easily lead to another and I cannot think myself above anyone if I haven’t been placed in their shoes.

“I notice my sudden jump in logic. From making a mistake to actively committing a crime. Just like that. I wonder if that's how it starts with a lot of criminals...”

[ #QUOTE from the book]


[Source: https://giphy.com/gifs/parks-and-rec-nbc-leslie-knope-10ABvIA9IM29tC/links]

I loved the feeling that the book was delivered like a documentary…wether on purpose or not…maybe I’ll be the only one to perceive it that way? (* shrugs *)
I think it very clever though, since the story is told from Erin’s point of view and she is a documentary filmmaker after all. It helped me to grasp Erin's character better and for most part I liked Erin. I felt immersed in her world, in the way she sees things. Even the documentary that Erin was busy working on makes the whole story more intricate. You can imagine all that must be going through her mind as she goes through the process of interviewing different criminals. Their stories, the interviews and the criminals themselves bring an interesting and somewhat unnerving factor to the book.

The whole time I was reading the book I was peppered with questions…this is also the reason the book is quite fast paced…I, for one, wanted some answers.
How did this happen? (From page 1 literally!! I mean you don’t dig a grave YOURSELF if you have nothing to hide…)
How did it come to that?
How did this even start? (Okay for this one we kinda have a clue, right….Something in the water…lol)
How did your life change so quickly? (The book plays of in only a few months.)
And closer to the end I couldn’t help asking myself, what in the world is she thinking?
I was rooting for her though…all the way…Erin you can do this, you will survive even though what you just did really ticked me off…lol.


[Source: https://giphy.com/gifs/reactionseditor-wtf-mind-blown-l0IypeKl9NJhPFMrK/links]

And then the deeper questions about morality and how well you really know the people around you? How much can you really trust the person you love? How well do you know yourself?
Riddled with guilt…Erin, of course, also found herself asking a lot of questions and wondering what she could have done differently, what they could have done differently...

“... She told me not to let it make me angry, not to let it break my heart, but to remember that we all lose the things we love the most and how we have to remember that we were lucky to have them at all in the first place.”

[ #Quote from the book]

I hope you all enjoyed this review of Something in the water by Catherine Steadman.
I hope I wasn’t too vague, I just don’t like spoiling a book and since I read it with little knowledge about it, I prefer to leave it at that.
To conclude this review...

Favourite #Quotes from this book:

“But that's life, isn't it? Sometimes you're the dog; sometimes you're the lamppost.”

“Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional.”

mpXDc7f4Tw6IO8QmYLAwUw.jpg

Ps. A big thanks to Jonathan Ball Publishers for sending me this book to review.

Much love❤️