Boosted Board Alternative- Evolve Stoke

in #boosted4 years ago

So, it looks like Boosted has gone out of business. I found out shortly after making my post about wanting the boosted board mini x.

The very next day, I came across this video on youtube(I'd been looking at videos on electric skateboards):

Yay me, I can't get what I want(unless I buy it second hand) because the company's going out of business. What great luck I have. So that means I looked into some replacements for it. I've looked mostly at shortboards, but I might need to look into some long boards, I like riding those better.

I found a few, and here's the first of them.

Evolve Stoke

stoke.jpgFrom Evolve's Site

First we have the Evolve Stoke. Nice little board. Coming in at $999 its the most expensive one I have from the list, but they seem to be the most widely known. They also ship from the US, which I like. I like the look of their board as well. Their battery doesn't protrude like some other's do and the colors actually work really well.

Its got a pretty good range of 10 miles at max speed of 24 miles per hour. While that's lower than some other that I found, the battery can be taken on a flight so thats quite useful.

Their remote also looks pretty cool, telling the speed right on it, something Boosted never had.

This board is a lot more expensive than the other ones I've got on the list, and I don't know if they can justify their cost(other than the looks, which they are winning by FAR). Hopefully they either reduce their cost by the time I buy one in a few months or else there would need to be some problems on the other ones that this doesn't have so buying this makes sense. But we can only wait and find out right?

Sort:  

Came across this post on reddit :

Reading the comments, Evolve isn't the best brand, so I think this one is going to be a no.

What about an electric scooter?

Portability. Scooter would be a lot harder to carry around with me, and am looking for something I can travel with as well.