The World Doesn't Owe Us Anything. Society, However....

in #bro3 years ago

HiveDivider.png

Lumberg get over it.jpeg

Thank you Sara Francis and Meme Generator

HiveDivider.png

We've all heard it. Any time we feel we've been slighted or treated unfairly and bitch too much about it someone will eventually utter those timeless words.

Get over it. The world doesn't owe you anything.

I tend to agree with this sentiment.

If I walk out into the forest and get mauled by a bear, who do I have to blame other than myself?

I know there's danger in the forest. I went anyway, and unprepared at that.

Who should I be angry at?

Society is different, though.

We all make sacrifices for the sake of the social contract. Think about that for a second. We have a contract. So it stands to reason we are owed what that contract promises, and it promises that my tax dollars will be used to keep me safe in the streets.

So if I'm walking down main street and get mauled by a bear, I am owed something. Who was supposed to be keeping the bears away? Why weren't they doing their job? I paid my taxes. Why am I mauled or dead?

Consider the current situation with the work force refusing to return to their jobs. There are generally two positions. Some people are legitimately concerned for their health and safety and don't want to risk exposure, while others simply know fear of Covid is a get out of job free card right now.

Considering how quickly the masters decided the new normal needed to revert back to old normal as soon as their wants shifted, and how little they care for the people their fortunes are built on, who can blame either? No one wants to risk his life to make sure I can buy a pack of smokes in passing. But the masters expect him to, and they'll even pay an extra $1 an hour now that no one will do it. So who can blame anyone for taking advantage of the hot word? It's just how we do business.

Society does owe us. It owes up the opportunity to opt out of debt slavery, but I haven't seen any indication of it trying to pay up, even while demanding we get back to upholding our end.

It owes us the right to opt out of corrupt systems.

If a fungus infects and ant and uses it to wipe out an entire colony it's just the natural procession of evolution.

If a company poisons a towns water supply to maximize profits, it's a violation of the conditions that we agreed to in order to allow that company to exist.

The world doesn't owe those ants anything. Society owes these ants a hell of a lot and I'm tired of hearing excuses that only serve to redirect the blame back to us.

Sort:  

I think there might be a third position here too... people realised that they don't have to live in overpriced cities and work 3 jobs just to exist... and can now live somewhere way cheaper and work online/remotely. Those people might never go back, even for that extra $1 an hour.

Oh, absolutely. I think I didn't mention them because that's given.

And this was an early morning rant because it's rainy and gloomy here today and I got my ass handed over at Splinterlands last night and don't feel like a repeat, so I'm all pondery and shit. Sorry if I got it on you.

Have some !PIZZA, !BRO. I hope it helps.

Ponder away dude! I'm all for the thoughts 100% of the time! Sorry I didn't mean to be gloomy too, just wanted to add in that I reckon the world might never go back to pre-pandemic... and that's probs not a bad thing.

😁 it’s not a bad thing at all.

@aussieninja! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @sinistry.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)

I went back over it to make sure I knew the context and yes, I didn't mention them because they are working they just adapted to the new normal.

Congratulations @sinistry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List