Business sense competition - RESULT

in #business7 years ago (edited)

Greetings Economists and Business people. After running the first ever Business sense competition, I would like to hereby release the results...

Competition.

There was one simple rule:

Use this image and create a Thumbnail that can be used on the feature. The feature is called Business Sense

The image should fit the page.

Picking the winners was not an easy thing to do. There were fantastic submissions but unfortunately, a winner needed to be chosen

WINNER - 50 SBD

business-sense1.jpg
This image was submitted by @pippininja.

I liked this image because of the subtle inlay over the phone. Clearly, a lot of effort went into this simple design! @pippininja will also receive 5 upvotes from me on posts he chooses.

Runners up - 10 SBD Each

Business-sense.jpg
Submitted by @negativer

business sense 3.png
Submitted by @allforthegood

Thank you for all submissions. I really appreciate the effort that went into this. The winning image will be used this month when ever I do a business feature. Feel free to bring your business posts to my attention

This competition was sponsored by my private account @dracosalieri.

Sort:  

Oh wow!! Thank you so much!! I got the image from pixabay and I screenshot your profile on the eSteem iPhone app then used photoshop CS to place the image on the cell phone. I was trying to make a design that would represent clearly and effectively as a thumbnail. So I felt like the words and logo needed to be the most prominent aspects. I had forgotten about my submission until just now when I looked at my wallet!

Again, thank you so so much!!!

Congratulations. Thank you for participating... It is quite an eye catching picture.

No problem...

Allow me some time to recover voting power for the other two. I have also voted with my private account...

Wow. Thank you so much.

I just wanted to throw my opinion out there concerning your thumbnail competition for next month... I really feel like a contest of this nature when you need a quality product that meets a specific requirement(thumbnail size image) should not be left to whoever can drum up the most votes. Of course any 50+ reputation steamer is going to crush a newcomer in the 30s or 40s in getting more of their followers to vote up their submission regardless of the quality of the work.

When I read your requirements, I knew that my image would have to represent well as a thumbnail and that the aspect ration would have to be in a specific range as well. So the text and images need to be very legible and the message has to be clear.

There were other good submissions and I totally agree with your decisions. Of course I am biased so take it with a grain of salt. Other submissions had small text that would be even smaller and unprofessional on a thumbnail. Some even had shapes that could not be trimmed to the thumbnail aspect ration without completely losing the image or text. Taking those things into consideration, you didn't have very much to choose from.

Thank you for creating this competition. I am looking forward to the next one!! I wouldn't mind though if you had a rule that the same person couldn't win two months in a row if that is needed to make people feel it is more fair?

Here is my 4th post I would love for you to check out and upvote when it's convenient! Thank you again! I will have the 5th and final post ready tomorrow.

https://steemit.com/contest/@pippininja/are-you-frustrated-because-your-posts-aren-t-getting-noticed-let-me-help

Thanks for providing a fun design challenge. I appreciate the payout as well!

Thank you for participating.

Thanks for the contest, and the payout! Much appreciated!

Thank you for participating. I appreciate simplicity in a design. It was hard to choose...

Ouch. Gotta say I'm kinda butthurt I didn't at least get a runner up spot, considering my submission had almost 40 votes, which was FAR more than anyone else got, but I guess I'll have to work harder next time...

Or stop putting in work for a "chance" to get paid for it. Not sure which.

No, no, do not ever stop! Keep the creative juices flowing. Don't even worry about the monetary part. Just enjoy.

It was quite a tough decision but I think that I will learn from it. Next time I will probably divide the prize pool up better so that more people can receive a reward.

I'm sure it was tough, and I shouldn't complain. I was just for sure I had it in the bag. I still feel your followers spoke with as many upvotes as I had, but in the end, it wasn't mine or their decision. I'll just have to go even further above and beyond next time.

Congrats to the winners, some great designs.

Nice post

I will follow your blog because you are someone generous. Thank you.

Very Cool use of the Business Trail image. Congratulations to the winners. Thank you all for supporting Business-Trail and the @Steemtrail Community.