Python for STEEM ... anybody ?

in #busy4 years ago

I started writing an open ended tutorial to get people into Python (beem) for STEEM. I finished part 2 a week ago and got nice payouts ...

Participation

While I tried every step before I wrote it down, I am not sure, if my guide works for everyone - I do not even know if it worked for anybody, since I got no feedback on that, at all.

Rewards

I noticed a long time ago, that if I make a somewhat technical post about STEEM, I can generate handsome rewards, even if the content is of little actual value. I guess, most people just assume that it must be something really clever, if there is code in it.

Honestly

I usually post, because I want to be rewarded. In this case, I need at least 10 € liquid funds to buy a ticket for @dtube.forum 2020 in Hamburg and I do not want to initiate a power down.

I could go ahead and write some more parts, generating enough rewards.
It isn't much fun writing tutorials for the void and it would not be honest, either, though.

To make it all worthwhile, I would need some feedback or participation.

With the guide comes the offer, that I will assist you and to develop it towards your needs; I am available in chat most of the time, and I will answer questions.
If you run into any problems trying my tutorial or if you want to learn something specific: just contact me here or in Discord. If it is not too complicated, I will try my best to help.

Until then, I will not continue with this series, as there would be no point other than reward grabbing.

Sort:  

I noticed a long time ago, that if I make a somewhat technical post about STEEM, I can generate handsome rewards, even if the content is of little actual value. I guess, most people just assume that it must be something really clever, if there is code in it.

I was philosophing about the same topic, especially as you asked me if I tried it.
I didnt, and I didn't even find time to answer..

Maybe we can motivate more people (also myself) if you focus on "organizing account" with Python. I bet there are some functions or helpfull codes to get data of one's account, which you can't find in any frontend. :)

First 2 parts were to set up the environment.

If you had done that, you could just test out all functions of the 'account' api instead of finding more excuses for your fucking laziness.

Yea man. My lazyness. As if I hadn't already enough to do.
But Python is one of the things I want to do. That's also why I'm reading a book about it.

I'm always interested in this kind of stuff but busy with a ton of other coding vids courses and stuff.

I would usually save it somewhere for later perusal.

Posted using Partiko Android

Contact me again, when you start using it, then :)

Do you work in Linux or Windows?
How often do you planning to publish python posts and if it's possible can give your Discord name?

Posted using Partiko Android

I use Linux in a virtual machine inside Windows. I explain why in the first part:
https://steemit.com/busy/@felixxx/python-for-steem-how-to-beem

Just hop in my channel here: https://discord.gg/u36fM8t and send me a friend request.

I need to learn python properly first. Started and stopped got sidetracked with other pressing issues. Do you think it's better than other languages spending time on? What about Go and C#? I'm not much an expert in this field but would love to learn something not complicated and is used more widely and is capable.

Do you think it's better than other languages spending time on? What about Go and C#?

Yes.

Never used Go and there is no library for STEEM (yet) so it is not useful in this context.
C is kind of close to Python. There also is no C library for STEEM.

Generally I would say that Python is the easiest and most powerful language at the moment.

If you learn programming, most of the concepts you learn will translate into all languages.

BTW which virtual machine inside windows you're using and which Linux?

I'm using VMware and installed Ubuntu 18 on it: 2 processors and 4 GB ram.

Posted using Partiko Android

https://steemit.com/busy/@felixxx/python-for-steem-how-to-beem

vmware and 18.04 ubuntu
processors and ram do not matter much - I will not be coding anything that is heavy on either.

Hello, @Felixxx. I am always interested in instructions. It doesn't matter what they talk about. In the context of the SteemWiki manuals seem to me basically interesting, at least for the content of a Wiki. If they are only reasonably useful and actually work, what is described in their content.

Out of a current personal dilemma I would like to ask you why I should work with Python and when I better use Javascript. Can you tell me some basic things about it? Then there are also the SQL interfaces for the Steem. I always wonder if it would be better to learn Python instead of deepening Javascript.

The problem for beginners is to decide again and again what to deal with. Instructions are available for many, even complete courses. The difficulty for me is which language to choose.

A basic article about all the languages you can use to access the Steem would be very interesting. You experts always start from the middle of the language. So there are already many articles about Python. But why do you choose one or the other language? You won't read anything about that on the whole Steem.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

But why do you choose one or the other language?

Preference.

If you want to learn the alphabet, it doesn't matter what letter you start with.

The main reason for using javascript would be that it runs client-side in a browser and almost everybody in the world has a browser. I am using Python because it is usually shorter and simpler, but the underlying concepts are the same across all languages, and especially here; The STEEM blockchain has a very limited set of operations and calls. With Python it is easier to read the source code (later chapter) to understand how the 'raw' API calls work.

If you want to learn the alphabet, it doesn't matter which letter you start with.

Ok, you are joking.... because there are many different alphabets. But maybe I understood it right anyway. When I use Python, I use this programming only on my own computer, for my own purposes. For example, if I need a special Steem statistic. If I want to run a program on client browsers, like a Steem-Condenser, I have to use Javascript.

Or can I install Python on the web server, run all Steem queries on it and then handle the output in the client HTML? Does that make sense? Does this make anything easier?

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

There are frameworks for Python, too.
They would have to run on your webserver, like you wrote.

With JS you can let the user's computer do the work for you - they only download the script.

Hmmmmmm.... JS... Python... First I need Javascript, for the condenser. You don't know Javascript, I guess. We have already written about it. An endless circle.....
But I will remember @felixxx and Python. When it comes to that. What I have installed on the webserver I don't know anymore. I can't see through it for a long time.

I started steessenger, which is pure JS.
But I know very little about webdesign and html - so JS is not that useful to me.

Engagement on posts can be difficult to guage. Sometimes people can make use of them months later. I haven't done any coding for steem lately using python. I need to get back into it and see what beem has evolved to 😀

I am interested in this, but have not had time to play with it recently.I guess it is a fairly small group of people who will code Steem stuff. Maybe using #STEM would get it to a few more of them.

I think you should continue with the series even if you don't get feedback right away. Those who need these guides will find them eventually. I like Python and Beem. I would be interested in reading tutorials, but can't promise on feedbacks as I am not good at giving feedback. :)

Well I hope you continue with the series. As we chatted about on the first post I am teaching myself Python and was looking forward to learning how to extract stats from the Beem blockchain queries.

When you get to test my guide, let me know :)

Are you asking for feedback on Part 2? I did follow your post and was successful in running the code, but as I am not familiar with querying json I was not able to do more with the code at this time.

Good to hear it works !

I had one person contact me in chat that they had problems 'installing Python' and I was not very confident after that.

I will continue then :)