You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New STEEM... It's not like OLD STEEM

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

@whatsup -

This post has been sitting open on my desk top for a couple of days and I've only just got to it now. I really like the positive tone. I admit to having been one of the nay-sayers when I first started reading posts about HF21, and, I admit, specifically in relation to the creator/curator split. Like everyone who has a vested interest in Steem appreciating in vlaue, I was feeling hard done by. I get the difference between those of us (as in @ats-david suggests in his post), who haven't used fiat to buy Steem, and those of us who have used the platform to generate (a bit of a head of) Steem. My reaction was that we have created and thus invested our time and contributed in a different way to the develoment of the platform. The time spent on creating posts (people's opinion of the quality aside - that is another matter), is nowhere near what I could charge in my day job (and no, it's not what you think! lol). I was beginning to question what the hell I was doing.

I will also nail my colours to the mast: I prefer the creative process to curation. I would love to be doing more of the latter, but I have a day job that pays the bills...

Which brings me to my next point: I have not powered down - ever. After HF20, and I was paralysed, I received a small delegation (now returned) and I have given two small delegations - in the spirit of both pay-back and paying it forward; I have used some Steem/SBD to buy SBI and to host my website so that I can use @steempress (I'll come back to this). In the grand scheme of things, though, that's negligible. As is the tiny head of Steem I've managed to build so far. So again, the question arises: what the hell am I doing?

It comes back to what is, for many, almost a mantra:

I came to Steemit for the money and stayed for the community

Which for someone who is not a herd animal, is quite something and thanks in no small part to the big-hearted small community lead by @jaynie and @zord189, @steemitbloggers aka #poiwerhousecreatives and its members.

So, back to my question self-examination: It was @ats-david's provocatively titled post, Oh, No! Hard Fork 21 Will Kill Us All! that nurtured a niggling feeling that whatever happened with HF21, I'd hang around (as I think it did for @nickyhavey?). The reasons have as much to do with community as with having found two dapps that work really well for my purposes - both on Steemit and "there". Using @share2steem and @steempress allows me to reach not just a bigger audience, but different audiences, including some that would do not have the remotest interest in Steemit or crypto currencies.

So, as a person for whom investing in Steem is unaffordable (even when it was at its lowest), I am going to hang around. I'm beginning to warm to the new Steem especially if it deals with some of the nasty, bullying and bot behaviour that has made some Steemians lives miserable.

Thanks to you and @ats-david for a different and more positive perspective.

Fiona
(aka one of the little guys

Sort:  

Well said Fiona!

I've made plenty of comments elsewhere on the platform so not going to spend much more time on it. Here's a time-lapse of my thoughts in comment form:

HF21 - hated the idea, woe is me, author rewards slashed, wait I'm getting something for my time and I've not spent any of my own money, that's still good, changes are coming, I'll do some more curating to get more, still got friends on the platform, still getting more than fb, twitter and YouTube combined. Staying, buoyant.

My HF21 lol

Nicky (another little guy)

Posted using Partiko Android

You are right. When I read his short novel of a post I was highly impressed. I am proud to say that @ats-david is another of my esteemed witnesses and has been for some time. My voting power juice is not very high, but I like your comment so much I am going to send...

!SHADE 10

Thank you @sgt-dan! Going to check Shade out. And your recommended witness...

Posted using Partiko Android



Hi fionasfavourites the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com