Departure fiasco and trip to Mexico (episode 1)

in #c-c-c3 years ago

Yeah, guess I gotta start with my departure to Mexico! Never been there before but I've gotta go! Now you might be thinking I'm in the U.S., but no! I'm from the states but have spent half of my life in the South of France. I didn't know much about blogging before nor even the blockchain. But I've been brushing up on it. So I'll be blogging about the past as well as I've had one hell of a life.

Let's start with this trip to Mexico. Two days to pack my life away as I won't be coming back to France...ever. As we say in French...c'est chaude patate (it's a hot potato!). Been feeling like I live cerca 1940's WWII with all the snitchers and the yellow stars coming around the corner. Pretty soon won't be able to eat (already haven't been free to breathe for a year and a half!). So I've decided to join other freedom lovers in Mexico! A little vacation, a little tequila, and I'll be able to improve on my sloppy Spanish!

I bought my plane ticket via GoVoyage with Air France and an all nighter to finish packing had me screeching in the morning with two extremely heavy suitcases that wouldn't close. Plane leaving at 11:40am and at 6:30am I'm bouncing on my suitcases like a madwoman...too many pics, too many clothes, too much crap in there! But these are my memories, (well, maybe not the clothes lol😜). Finally, throwing stuff out left and right, I get them zipped up. A last glance at the pigstye left in my wake, I step out of the door.

It's 8:00am and these bags weigh a ton! Down the elevator I literally tug and pull and even fighting to get them out the door and to the bus stop!

Arriving at the bus depot which goes to Marignane Marseille Provence Airport, I go to the 12th station platform. I throw one heavy suitcase under the bus (throw is an overstatement lol🤣). Then as I turn to get on the bus a fleeting thought comes to my head. Do I have my passport? Oh shit!!! I've forgotten my passport! I turn to the other driver in back of me saying, "Je ne peux pas partir. J'ai oublié mon passeport. Mille euros aux chiottes!" "I can't leave. I've forgotten my passport. 1000€ down the toilet!". What was I going to do now?!

The driver all of a sudden makes a phone call. He calls his boss, then walks away.

I pull (and that's an understatement) my suitcase out from the bottom of the bus. Then turning back toward where he'd disappeared, I see him drive up in one of their company cars. He grabs my suitcases and puts them in the car, asking me where I live and telling me that normally he'd never do this for a customer, but he was making an exception for me!😲 I couldn't believe it! I had to be leaving this town after 18 years before somebody finally showed me a kindness (that's another story).
We get to my apartment at 8:40am. I run in and up the elevator to the third floor, (fourth U.S.), and I grab my passport and chug back out the door. He then drives me back to the bus depot and loads my luggage under the bus, then refuses the tip I offer him❤ I then get on the bus and off to the airport I go!

IMG_20210901_170212.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @katou.kanga! This is @traciyork from the @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) curation team. We noticed you shared your first post here on Hive - congratulations and welcome! That sounds like quite the adventure and it was wicked awesome of that driver to help you like that!

It would also be awesome if you could do an introduction post, so our community can get to know you better. For an example of what an intro post is like, you can check out this one by my friend & curation team member -

Keeping Up With the Buzz - My Introduction to the Hive Community.

Speaking of community, we have many different ones here on the blockchain, devoted to all kinds of interests. Here's a link so you can check them all out - Hive Communities

Also, as Hive can sometimes be quite confusing, the newly launched Newbies Guide should be helpful to you, as it is a growing repository of useful and easy to understand posts about how the Hive ecosystem works.

Please be aware that Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog, so it is important not to include content that you don't own without sources (and it shouldn't exceed 50% of the post). For more information, check this post - Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise by hivewatchers.

Since you're new, you may run into an RC (Resource Credits) error when trying to comment/post because you don't yet have enough Hive in your account yet. For assistance with a temporary delegation to get you started, be sure to check out the Gift Giver site.

For now, @lovesniper will follow your account and we are looking forward to seeing your intro post. Also, please mention (also known as tagging) @traciyork & @lovesniper in your intro post in order for us to be notified, so we can consider your post for OCD curation. Lastly, feel free to hop into the OCD Discord server if you have any questions!

Thanks a million for all the info! Will get to it soon. Room hunting today in a language I only speak so-so😬 Wish me luck🍀

Sending lots of luck and good vibes your way! 😊

Thank you soooo much❤ But so far no good😥 Was supposed to be getting a room today. The guy never even answered his phone, then when I showed up with my stuff, he made me wait 3 hours then finally came around with some bs that he was leaving and I couldn't stay. What a douche😖 Back to the drawing board sigh😔

Oh no! That's beyond awful. I hope it leads to something bigger and better for you though (and that dude gets a taste of his own karma). Still sending good thoughts your way! 🤞

Today I went to visit a room smelling very strongly of pee, then a cat jumped down at me and I understood and ran off🤢🤮 The 2nd room the guy wouldn't even give me the address. Just kept saying, "by the barbershop...by the barbershop." 🤣🤣 When I finally found it, they refused to open the door😖 I'm actually going to visit one tomorrow afternoon. Am still working on my intro and taking pics of pics. Will have it done and posted soon. Thanks for being patient. I read one of the beginners guides. Whew! A lot of vocab lol🤣🤣

Ugh, such a frustrating situation, @katou.kanga! And you're very welcome - I just celebrated my fourth year here on the blockchain and some days I have a hard time figuring out all the vocal...lol!

Seriously, I think if you looked up "steep learning curve" in the dictionary, you'd find Hive's picture there.😉😂

Speaking of, I took a peek at your wallet & noticed you don't have any Hive Power yet (it's essentially the stuff that fuels your activity like posting, commenting, and such). I just delegated a little bit to you, so that once you do have the chance to post your intro & photos, you won't run into an issue because there's nothin' in your tank. 😜

(I know in my @lovesniper comment I recommended the Gift Giver site for temp delegations, but the site's been overloaded with requests lately so I thought I'd make one less step for you to deal with).

Not sure if it's tomorrow afternoon for you yet, but still sending good vibes your way and hope you get some good news soon!