Herman Caine vs Thomas Sowell - Breaking the mold of blackness.

in #caine4 years ago

image.png

I'm guessing that it had something to do with the death of Herman Caine yesterday; I had a dream that Thomas Sowell died today. It was vivid enough that I checked to make sure that it was a dream. Fortunately, he's ninety years-old and still kicking.

With Herman Caine's death and some of the gross things that I've seen said about him, that constant flood if gross language and racism that's been thrown at Thomas Sowell over decades really re-emerged in my brain.

I was rather ambivalent about Caine. I saw nothing to truly despise or celebrate about him politically. I never came close to voting for him. But, I reserve my grave dancing for the people who deserve it. Caine didn't. Silvia Brown did. Fidel Castro did. Che Guevara did. Franklin Roosevelt did. Woodrow Wilson did. Andrew Jackson did. When John Edward dies I'll schedule a dance off on his grave. Yet, where's the grave dancing when it's deserved?

image.png

At Sowell's advanced age, he feels to be immortal even though we know that he's probably only got a few years left. He's been highly influential on me and my understanding of economics and philosophy.

What's more, one who has been a nerd and watched his debates from back in the seventies and eighties have seen that the racist...dare I say "whitesplaining" of much of the privileged, collectivist Left is nothing new, it's only growing.

What Caine and Sowell have in common is that they have broken the molds that academics have tried to make to display blackness. Caine drew and Sowell draws hate, not because of race and not because of their ideas, but because too many people think that there's one way that real black Americans think and neither Caine nor Sowell fit.

Hopefully, Sowell still has a lot of years left in him. But, when he does die, I will be expanding my criteria for dumping social media contacts. If I see any comments calling him "Uncle Thomas" or an "Oreo" or a "house nigger" or "porch monkey" you're out. If you're going to be a racist, don't hide behind a cloak of progressivism, just be honest to yourself and others and put on the damn white hood.