Health Update, Spring and Rebuilding

in #cancer3 years ago

image.png

It's been a while since I mentioned how Joe is doing, and since he had an appointment today I thought it might be a good time for an update.

In December he finished Chemo feeling/looking weak and rough and weighing well under I30 pounds, BUT the December Scans both body and brain were really clean and the doctors seemed highly impressed with his progress.

We are still focusing on Diet, Supplements, and off-label drugs while he rebuilds. In addition, he receives IV infusions of Immunotherapy every three weeks. It feels actually nice to sometimes go three weeks between appointments. After months of running from appointment to appointment. While there still are some side effects it is SO MUCH better than weekly Chemo was.

While rebuilding is going slowly he is gaining weight, growing some hair back, and feeling stronger, his appetite is much better and at times he even feels hungry.

He's developed thyroid issues which is a fairly common side effect and it was a bit of a setback with weight, and feeling good. After his last blood tests, he was prescribed a new medication and those impacts are now starting to balance out and once again we feel on the path to getting stronger.

He has the next set of Scans at the end of the month which will be a "Report Card" of sorts to see how we are doing.

I can't tell you how impressed I am with his strong will and calm approach to quietly march through whatever new situation develops. While emotionally I've been all over the place, he just calmly shows up.

While we realize every new set of Scans is a ticking timebomb, we are expecting and hoping for the best!

We have learned so much about each other, and our friends and family and it is absolutely true that every cloud has a silver lining (or many) Although I wouldn't wish this path on anyone.

We continue to appreciate all your thoughts and prayers and I KNOW I will be a basket case before that next set of Scans.

Thank you all for your support. So, happy it is Spring-like outside and we can start to get out and about.
#doingwell #cancersucks #healing

@whatsup

Sort:  

Getting out into sunlight @whatsup will be good for both of you, as the Vit. D builds and dances through your every cell in celebration...😎

Glad to here things are on the mend.

Whatever happened to your neighbor?
(I fell behind from the pulse running so fast.)

It turns out he was acting wrong around teen girls. They didn't have enough to charge him, but it didn't sound good. I'm pretty sure he was a creep

Did he move?

Yep

That's wonderful news! I'm happy to hear that he is doing well. It's a brutal road for sure but it sounds like you guys are doing it a pretty good way, doing the conventional way as well as understanding you need to support the body with proper diet and supplements and stuff! Look forward to hearing more good news in a few weeks or months!

....and I KNOW I will be a basket case before that next set of Scans.

Isn't that making an assumption that your aren't one already? ...just sayin'...(Don't assume..lol)
Well done!

Prayers for continued healing and for clear scans in the future.

My thoughts and best wishes for you and yours. Stay strong!

Hey there, how wonderful to see Joe recovering. Thank you for the update and let's hope Joe keeps his awesome demeanor on the road to recovery. All the best to you both and your families!

Hello there,

This is the first time I hear about this and I wish you all the best in this tough situation. Continue to take a day at a time and it seems he is going on a better path.

I will keep him and your family in my prayers 🙏