Grown From Seed; My First Experience Cultivating Cannabis

in #cannabis5 years ago (edited)

From Seed To Weed

Hey everyone out there on the Steem blockchain! I know its been a while and man does time fly but I wanted to share with everyone my first attempt at cultivating cannabis from seed. Over the last decade I have collected seeds from cannabis that I had acquired as usually there are not supposed to be seeds. Seeds are not a good sign of high quality cannabis but I figured "what the hell" and kept everyone I came across. Some of these seeds were very colorful with stripes and others were just small white seeds that I didn't think were viable but kept them anyway. They were all stored in a small jar that I added to over time. I am not talking very many seeds, maybe two dozen or so.

This year has been exceptionally wet so I wanted to take advantage of all the free water falling from the sky and the extended cool season here in southern California. I started the seeds in small peat moss pellets and then once they had grown secondary leafs, I transplanted them to larger containers. This was my first attempt ever and most of you will say that the pots are too small. I agree with this observation but they were all I had at the time. If I planted them in the ground they would have been run over by my wild dogs. I figured this would be fine for my situation of merely trying.

Here are a series of photos of each one. There are only seven plants with one smaller than the others. Not sure why its growth was stunted as they pretty much all sprouted within two weeks of one another. All have been grown outdoors full time. I did top each one once they were around eight inches tall EXCEPT the smaller one, I totally forgot to top it and I am just going to let it grow now. They all look very similar and I assume they are all Indica? Maybe the larger one is Sativa? I have no idea what strain any of them are as I was plopping them in the jar. Please comment below and tell me what you think. I am just going to let them do their own thing at this moment in time. I do occasionally pull sick looking lower leafs off.









Thank you for taking the time to view my progress on these beauties. I hope to get something good at the end. At the moment I am battling rodents in my garden so I am hoping nothing happens to these plants. Take care everyone!

All photos, unless otherwise stated or sourced, were taken by @csusbgeochem1 and may not be reused without permission. Animations and cover photo created by @csusbgeochem1 using GIMP.

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Sort:  

Congratulations you've been chosen by our curators at Canna-Curate for great cannabis content! If you'd like to join our curation trail
JPEG_20180729_131244.jpg
12.5SP - 25SP - 50SP - 100SP - 250SP - 500SP - 1000SP

Awesome! Thank You!