1991 Ferrari Testarossa

in #car2 years ago

I thought I had already written a post about this iconic car but no... so the RM Sotheby's sale that will take place in Munich (Germany) from November 24 to 26, is the perfect opportunity to talk about the Ferrari Testarossa. With the classic colors of the Prancing Horse, Rosso Corsa with a black interior, this 1991 model is one of the automotive design icons of the 80's.

01.jpg

This sale will take place at the Motorworld in Munich in a huge industrial building, the Lokhalle where before the Deutsche Bahn repaired its locomotives. It's 185 meters long and 90 meters large with a ceiling height of 18 meters. Just perfect to display all the cars of this auction, approximately 60. There is plenty of room as you can see:

motorworld_muenchen_dampdom.jpg

But let's go back to the car we are interested in today, the successor of the 512 Berlinetta Boxer, the Ferrari Testarossa aka Red Head in English, a true icon of the 80's especially thanks to the series Miami Vice or the game Out Run.

02.jpg

History of Ferrari Testarossa

line_hive.jpg

The Ferrari Testarossa was presented during the 1984 Paris Auto Show. But the development started few years before in order to replace the BB series which could not be sold in the US because it didn't meet the requirements of the US regulations. The project was entrusted to Pininfarina and especially to the designer Leonardo Fioravanti (father of 365 GTB/4 Daytona) and his team Ian Cameron, Guido Campoli, Diego Ottina and Emanuele Nicosia. More than 3 years were necessary to arrive at the final design.

30.jpg

You can find on this excellent site the other sketches to this project red-headed.com. I love these sketches.

Its name comes from the 250 Testa Rossa race car, winner of the 1957 World Sports Car Championship with red painted camshaft covers. The angled design by Fioravanti and his team is a response to the other iconic Italian car of that era the Lamborghini Countach. I remember when I was a kid with my friends to know which one was the most beautiful... I've always loved Ferrari but this one is difficult to tell 😀 :

Lambo.jpg

1990 Lamborghini Countach sold for $274,400 in 2019 (source : Gooding & Company)... Your choice? 🤔

03.jpg

The car was produced until 1991. This model is one of the last cars to leave the Maranello factory as the production of the 512 TR was starting the same year. Sold in 1995 to its current owner, it has been driven very little with only 28,397 km on the odometer. Pure beauty 🤑

line_hive.jpg

line_hive.jpg

Specification

line_hive.jpg

The Ferrari Testarossa is equipped with a 4.9 litre flat-12 engine (an upgrade of the 512 Berlinetta Boxer) producing 385 hp at 6,300 rpm. It can reach 100 kmh in just 5.8 seconds with of top speed of 290 kmh (180 mph).

10.jpg

As I said in introduction, this example is finished in Rosso Corsa over a Nero leather interior with red carpets. The car has been maintained with great care and in perfect condition. Any buyers?

line_hive.jpg

line_hive.jpg

Sale

line_hive.jpg

Model :1991 Ferrari Testarossa
Where :RM Sotheby's Munich
When :24-26 November 2022
Price:Not indicated yet but certainly around $US 200,000

line_hive.jpg

Sources

RM Sotheby's Munich
Lot : Ferrari Testarossa
Red-headed

Wikipedia :

line_hive.jpg

Previous Post

Mercedes-Benz 300 Uhlenhaut Coupé >
Delahaye 135 MS Sport Coupé
From Ferrari 1961 250 GTE to 1976 365 GT4 (2)
From Ferrari 1961 250 GTE to 1976 365 GT4 (1)
BMW 507 Roadster Series II
Cisitalia-Abarth 850 Scorpione Coupé
Result Bonhams Amelia Island 2022
Fangio Mercedes-Benz 300 SL

line_hive.jpg

Have a great weekend... Enjoy.

Bonus Video

line_hive.jpg

Presentation of this Munich sale with its star 2007 Lamborghini Reventón.

Sort:  

A classic, it reminds me of the television series Miami Vice

This car reminds us of our youth, especially playing Out Run 😀 :

untitled.gif

Out Run, I forgot about that classic game! Brings back memories

I can't believe I'm saying this, because the Testarossa was the car. But it isn't aging well. At least in photos. I have seen some up and close in person and the hips are extremely sexy. I still want one. But those profile shots don't do it for me. I'm sure I'd have a blast behind the wheel, as long as it's manual.

It's sure that you can see that it's an 80's car with this design. But I wouldn't be as hard as you, I like it... And as you said, it must be thrill to be behind this wheel.

I'm a little short on cash to be a buyer but opinions are cheap. I like the Ferrari. I've always loved these cars. Growing up in the 80s this generation of supercars will always be my ideal car.

I'm little short too... I just only dream like when I was a child 😀

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@cryptoyzzy(2/5) tipped @heroldius (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!