This time of year, you've got to get your rides in early... or late.

in #cars4 years ago


This morning, I went for a short-ish bike ride. Just short of 13 miles. My goal was to try to push slightly harder than I had on my last few rides. Specifically, I was trying to maintain a certain speed when going uphill, without standing up. A lot of people would gauge this with something like cadence sensors, but I'm not that fancy. While I am definitely pretty interesting in bicycling, I'm far from an expert or an advanced rider.


Today should be a pretty eventful day, though. Now that my morning bike ride is over, I'm going to take a shower and then head down to my parents' house to bring them some things that have been at my house for a while and to see the new deck my dad had built for my mom, who will need it to get in and out of the house with a wheelchair at some point in the not-too-distant future.

The last time I was at my parents' house (which is less than an hour from my house) was in late January. I remember specifically because it was the Sunday before I had two job interviews the next day, and I was telling everyone about those. One of those interviews ending up getting me the job I currently have, and I'm pretty excited about it still. Even though it's not glorious (I'm essentially just doing shipping and receiving for a manufacturing company), it checks all of the boxes I like to have checked when thinking about work.

We'll be hanging out outside and wearing masks (my mom has a compromised immunity system and needs to be especially careful about avoiding viruses), but it will be nice to visit. My wife and I will be driving down in the new (to us) Jeep Cherokee we bought yesterday to replace my 2008 Civic. We bought the Civic when it had fewer than 100 miles on it and basically drove it into the ground. It still has some life left it, but also needs a lot of work. We'll be giving it to my brother-in-law who is very handy with cars. He can probably get it spruced up a bit and it'll be a nice commuter car for him because it gets nearly 40 mpg.

Out with the old:

In with the new:


EDIT: I typed this up and then realized how late it was getting, ran to take a shower and start getting ready for the rest of my day, and then came back hours later only to realize I'd never finished publishing this post. Whoops!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://sharkthelion.com/this-time-of-year-youve-got-to-get-your-rides-in-early-or-late/



presearch


Get $30 off your first Butcher Box! Grass-fed, grass-finished meat delivered to your door (US only)




Sort:  

40mpg? I would love a car like that. I think my car gets something like 25mpg.

My new one gets more like 25, but yeah the Civic I had for 12 years got in the upper 30s anyway, not exactly 40.

That's still really good.

What's with new cars with crummy mileage?