Happy Birthday, Jango!

in #cat3 years ago

IMG_20201113_0931101.jpg

Greetings, everyone! It's my younger cat's birthday today (and also my sister's but that's a different story)! My, my. It feels as though it were only yesterday when Jango came into our lives. I still feel like he's the baby. Above you can see him perched on his pedestal. How he manages to sit there is beyond me. He even used to sleep there but probably stopped because he would sometimes fall off. Anyways, let's het to know Jango a bit!

Jango

Nov 13.jpg

Jango was born on November 13, 2014 making him 6 years old! He was part of a litter of only 2. His brother, Lando, was born a full day later. Lando had a habit of urinating on top of the couches but we ended up giving him to someone who wanted him, a friend of the family who gave me Jango's mother, Leia (along with her 2 brothers).
While biologically female, Jango prefers to use he/him pronouns. He has a small kink in his tail, indicating that he is inbred. His father is also his uncle. Jango inherited his long fur from his uncle daddy, while Leia has medium length fur bordering on long.
His right canine tooth is chipped. I do not know how or when this happened and have never found the point.

IMG_20201113_0930291.jpg

Jango knows how to give high 5's, as seen in the above photo. It is very easy to train a cat to do this. Just hold a treat just out of their range and they will instinctively try to reach for it. If they don't want to do it anymore that means they've become tired or annoyed of trying so you can try again the next day or later. Remember to pet them after they do it successfully to give them secondary reinforcement.

Jango's Personality

Jango is literally a scaredy cat. Loud noises and and quick movements will frighten him, especially if he's doing something he knows he's not supposed to (like munching on plastic). Jango has always been very wary. If you walk in his direction he will move out of the way or go under the couch. Despite being anxious and shy, he also demands a lot of attention. He will meow annoying at you so that you can pet him and even if you do pet him he will meow if your not scratching his neck, which he likes very much. If you stop he will meow also and even sometimes tap you with his little paw.
Jango will come up and sit next to me if there is space but he will rarely sit on me. I really have to urge him to do it but when he does I reward him.
Both Leia and Jango eat out of the same bowl, with Jango eating first. Even if Leia gets to it first, he will simply move her out of the way and make her wait. Lately though, Leia has been getting bold and has learned that she can do the same thing to Jango. I am pushing for a second bowl to be added so that they don't have to compete.
Leia likes to play by chasing Jango but Jango does not like this and hisses, growls, and even scratches at Leia. Jango likes toys such as lasers, milk rings, twigs, etc. Leia does too but she also likes being chased and when I pretend to sneak up on her.

I gave Jango some treats today since it was his birthday. I will give him more throughout the day. I also gave him some catnip leaves which he pawed at, rolled in, and eventually ate.
I can't believe he's 6 years old already. Cats are known to live up to 25 years! Although he can be annoying sometimes, especially when he's hungry, I do love him. He has come a long way.
Happy birthday, Jango!

Sort:  

Belated happy birthday, Jango! High five! 😄

I'll tell him you said so!

Thank you! :D