Some pictures of my cat, Lily

in #caturday4 years ago

Hello Steem, and happy Caturday!

This post comes a bit late, I admit, but I'll insist that it still counts, as it is still Saturday (barely, I suppose) in my time zone.

Here's some pictures of my cat, Lily. She's pretty photogenic, so maybe she can fetch me some cryptocurrency .

intro

I originally chose to name her in honor of another cat, also named Lily, that belonged to a friend of mine. That Lily had passed away from cancer around a year earlier.

We certainly did not get her from Amazon, but she does like when we get other things from Amazon. I guess this is a pretty standard cat pose, so it's pretty much obligatory that I include a photo of her in a box.

cat.jpg

My family used to have two other cats in the past, but my sister slowly became more and more allergic to them over time, and we eventually had to give them to family friends. Lily's a siberian forest cat, however, and the breed seems to have some (anecdotal; no scientific evidence for the mechanism yet) hypoallergenic properties.

My sister can coexist with Lily without her allergies causing her much trouble. The breeder's son is also allergic to cats, and he does not have any issues with Lily's parents.

Weird note: it turns out that Lily's mother is also named Lily; I may have unconsciously noted this when I picked her up from her breeder. I'm not sure.

She certainly isn't afraid of heights, but I guess this is yet another feature that comes standard with cats.

cat tree.jpg

High places are actually her favorite. When she's not hanging out on our balcony, her favorite place in the house is at the top of her cat tree. This cat tree is about 2 meters high, and the top of it is actually the single tallest point in our home! She can overlook the rest of the house from this perch of hers.

(not pictured: the mountain fur that's accumulated at the top of the cat tree; she sheds a lot!)

belly rub.jpg

One thing that's a bit uncommon amongst cats though, however, is the fact that she lets us give her belly rubs. Many cats will enter a pose that resembles the pose that dogs make to request a belly rub, but cats are generally not requesting belly rubs when they enter this pose.

Many a cat owner's hand has fallen to this trap before!

Lily is a good cat, however, and she obliges us when we try to give her a belly rub.

(Note to readers: Do not try this at home with your cat. I am not liable for injuries you may sustain in the process!)

let me in.jpg

This is her trying to get back inside the house. She's weird sometimes.

farewell

I hope you enjoyed these pictures of my cat. I may post some more pictures of Lily at some point.

Sort:  

Congratulations @reckoner.dev! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Great

Thanks; glad you like it!