Facebook Censoring #Bitcoin

in #censorship4 years ago

Social media used to be where you could get real time information unhindered by gatekeepers.

That is no longer true.

Twitter is full of stories today of political posts being censored. Facebook is now hiding posts with the #bitcoin hashtag.

img_5304.png

Clicking “Learn More” does not let you learn more.

img_5305.png

This is why I’ve been on Hive, previously known as Steem, since the middle of 2016. The information there is stored on a blockchain and uncensorable so anyone can post whatever they want, and they can’t be censored.

Some are not comfortable with this. Some think humanity needs to be directed and controlled by strong central leadership that “knows what’s best for you.” I think this is dangerous. As humans, we experiment, try things, fail, learn, and evolve. I also recognize the speed at which things are moving today and how we we need more watchman sticking their heads above the noise to see the bigger picture and suggest, “Hey all, looks like we’re headed to that cliff over there. You sure you want to keep going in this direction?”

It’s a constant struggle to stay informed and engage our own epistemology (while improving it) to figure out what is real and what is not. Steem (a blockchain-based social media platform) was taken over by someone just interested in making money through greed and deception. The community had to fight back and organize together to create Hive (a forked copy of everything). Our data was preserved, but it was a battle. There will be more battles in the future.

There are cliffs to avoid.

Fiat currency (money by government decree) is a cliff, and we’re headed for it at speeds approaching hyperinflation. The US may not retain its position as the world reserve currency (see Bretton Woods agreement of 1944 and the Nixon Shock if 1971 to see how this came about). Most Americans are not ready for what this will do to their standard of living. The US Dollar is propped up through trust (which is rapidly fading) and the threat of violence. I hope those with fingers behind triggers will think in terms of honor and responsibility towards fellow humans, not towards propping up the value of their money in the name of “US Interests.”

Please, get out of the AI-curated garden of social media whose only intention is to feed your dopamine fix so you’ll be more receptive to the next ad specifically crafted to resonate with their model of how you think which is constantly updated by every action you take online. Use Hive or systems like it.

Get out of the failing fiat system and get some cryptocurrency.

Sort:  

That’s a shame but also a sign that something’s about to break. The strangest thing I have seen is that while youtube demonetizes or bans crypto videos randomly, they don’t seem to have any problem with keeping crypto scam ads

For real. They constantly run obvious scam ads without any concern. How is that possibly justified?

@apshamilton they're trying to hand your case to you, clearly.

The censorship gets worse and worse unless something big is done to stop it.

Get out of the failing fiat system and get some cryptocurrency

Everyone needs to hear this

Facebook's Libra cryptocurrency taps ex-HSBC exec as CFO of payments unit Reuters - 15.10.2020

Agreed! But Hive is built on TRUST. We, as users, need to keep it and maintain it carefully:)

I've share this post and some of the content C&P'd to (ironically) my FB profile 🤣
I'm also upvoting and reblogging it here (if the new HF conditions will allow me to do so)
Thanks @lukestokes

Goes against "Community Standards." LOL what a joke!

Wow, just flat out no #bitcoin at all. They just keep taking it to the next level. I ditched Facebook almost 6 years ago and haven’t looked back. I went to upload one photo and the Facebook app started downloading all my photos. I quickly shut my phone off and I was done. That was back when you could actually delete the account. I guess now you can’t fully delete it. That is just what I have heard.

Bitcoin?
There's no search results for Bitcoin.
Did you mean: Elephant?
Showing results for: Giraffe.

Ads
Bee Smart. Use Hive. ;-)

I not use Facebook some 4+ years when steem was come out I was send it fuck to hell . And I'm happy I have been here in this community, and also we have now Hive what makes it more strong and cool.
Fuck Twitter also my pages is now some 3 months blocked there, I did not get no E-mail why it was close. But I know why:)) I was shere lot Hive users pages links there. 👌

I'm in HIVE 1001 % and I love❤💯 it 🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯🍯

Thanks for using Ecency!
Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear readers, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

Censorship keeps hitting all time highs. I honestly thought it would stop at some point.

I think the reason for the (hard or soft) ban on BTC and other cryptos isn't necessarily because they want to keep fiat as the only possibility. They fear to get sued due to someone telling them to invest here or buy that - we all know the internet is full of scams and people talking about stuff they don't know enough about. They can't watch every video/post/etc. so they just say "no BTC". Same as they say "no covid-19" on youtube, because they don't want to get sued by someone saying "But xyz said in his video that jumping on my left leg would make me immune - you're responsible!"

Often for the most strange reasons (well, strange for me). There is a book of knitting patterns the author isn't allowed to be sold or promoted on Instagram or Facebook due to its title: "Evolution". Even 'evolutionknits' as a title isn't acceptable...

It's not BTC or crypto itself the reason per se, but dumb people.

They can't claim to be impartial like ISPs and avoiding all the responsibilities of a publisher while at the same time dictating what can and can't be said. YouTube has constantly running "live" videos of 100% crypto scams. They have been told about it again and again. They have ads running for these scams and they do nothing about it.

I think this is about the global financial system. Facebook = Libra. Why would they not fight against the real solution to their plans?

Facebook ? What is that ?