If a Company Abuses You, Quit and Get Your Life Back

in #centlast year

From stories that were shared with me by my friends, some companies do abuse their workers. Sometimes it's not even the corporation but a division of a company or a franchise taking the corporation's name that has been abusing its employees.

Don't take their shit.
In my experience, I've worked for my family's business which was always more flexible for me, but when I went into the labour market and started working for Wendy's, that's when I got my first dose of the reality of how franchise owners or managers can be. Some are toxic, some abuse your hard labour, and when you finally decide that you're done putting up with their shit, then they come crawling back and BEG you to come back to work. You see, the company does value you, but sometimes the managers just don't respect you.

Know your worth...
You are a valuable asset to any team, and you should take pride in the skills that you provide. Always give the best that you can give, but when it comes down to defending yourself don't use your bills as an excuse. Threaten them that you will leave if they don't start providing some kind of extra benefit to you. If they truly want to see you go, they won't even fight it. If they won't even fight it, and you KNOW you're a great employee with a great track record, then that's when you should realize that you are expendable to the business. Leave with your pride intact.

Sometimes, they may even call you back to negotiate a deal. Don't take people's shit.