Что Я Такое? / What Am I?

in #challenge2 years ago

DSC_0300.JPG

Русский
English

Я сделан из железа. За последние пятьдесят лет, по крайней мере, и, вероятно, ближе к ста, я сидел на земле, ржавея и видя, как вокруг меня растут деревья. Оставался я нетронутым, пока однажды этот мерзавец Кая наконец не подобрал меня, через пройдя мимо меня больше раз, чем я могу сосчитать. Я бы рассказал вам больше об истории земли, которую я называл домом в течение прошлого столетия, но я бы предпочел не давать ответ так легко... что я такое?
I am made of iron. For the past fifty years at least, and probably closer to a hundred, I sat on the ground, rusting away and watching trees grow up all around me. I remained undisturbed, until one day, that git Kaja finally picked me up, after walking past me more times than I can count. I would have told you more of the history of the land I called home for the past century, but I'd rather not simply give away the answer. What am I?

DSC_0301.JPG

DSC_0302.JPG

DSC_0303.JPG

DSC_0304.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @steampunkkaja! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 25
Introducing NFT for Peace
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
Ну, пост выплачен, и никто успешно не ответил на вызов (@jacobtothe приблизился), итак, вот ответ, @qwerrie, @bashadow, @taliakerch, @may2015.
Well, the post paid out and no-one successfully answered the challenge (@jacobtothe got close), so here's the answer, @qwerrie, @bashadow, @taliakerch, @may2015.

image.png

The object in question is one of the guard tines off of a sicklebar, which is a very old type of field mower - examples such as this predate tractors, and so were horse-drawn.
Объект, о котором идёт речь, представляет собой один из защитных зубьев из сегментно-пальцевой косилки (английский "сиклбар", или серп-полоса), который является очень старым типом полевой косилки - такие примеры, как этот, предшествовали тракторам, и поэтому были запряжены лошадьми.

guard tines?? strange. I cant imagine what it is "guarding" at all. thanks for the answer, thought 😎

They protect the blades from stones sticking up out of the ground, which is how they usually get broken. It's a lot easier to repair or replace a broken tine than broken blades. For that reason, sicklebars are favoured in areas like the one where I live, since the soil is nothing but stones, and even if you pick them all out, frost heave keeps shifting more to the surface every year.

a spear?..

No, but I can see why you'd guess that.

I tried 🤸

It looks like a tine from a farming implement, perhaps a harrow?

It's not from a harrow, but you're on the right track.

Seed drill? Their tines look even more like that one you have, now that I have poked around at pictures of farm equipment.

Nope - try a later stage of cultivation.

Well, it's smaller than what I've seen on reapers and combine harvesters and the like, but I suppose that depends on the crop the tool is designed for.