Checking In After 6 Months

in #checkin2 years ago

It's been so long since I've created a post on Hive. No post since September - my longest hiatus from Hive/Steem since I joined in 2016.

Not that there hasn't been much going on. Plenty of things I could have wrote about, but I never found the initiative over the last few months.

Most times COVID takes over my thoughts these days so no need to post on that.

Or it could have been because my tablet keyboard died. If I had to sit at a desk in front of a computer, there was always something else I should have or wanted to be doing.

So recently got a new computer, but with a twist. I picked up an ASUS ROG X13. This bad boy has a touch screen and the screen flips around to I can also use it as a tablet with a stylus pen. Replaces both my older computer and my iPad.

I also picked up a CNC router to add to the woodshop. I'm spending a lot of time learning about that. Getting all the little quirks worked out so I can start producing sellable items consistently.

Here's some of my early creations:

20211227_191852-01.jpeg

I made the above out of oak as a Christmas present. This was my first hardwood carve and they turned out quite well.

received_4507718105964539.jpeg

I tried my hand at designing my own model. This was from a picture I had made a few years back, and for a first try it turned out well.

20211216_203810.jpg

I cut it out of shitty pine as a test cut. It turned out alright. When I'm ready to do a hardwood one, I'll readjust the roots at the bottom and make the whole model thicker. The new computer will help with model creation as well. I'll now be able to sit on the couch and use Blender to sculpt and adjust models instead of sitting at a computer desk - which I tend to put off.

20211128_174736.jpg

A shot of the CNC with the first ever sign. A little sign to go outside the chicken coop.

20211226_173341.jpg

And a larger walnut carving. This, along with another walnut piece is in the staining and finishing phase right now. I'll post them once they're done.

I'm hoping I can get back to posting regularly. As the winter turns to spring, I'll definitely have some adventures to share.

Sort:  

Welcome back! That's some cool hardware you have. I'm sure you can be really creative with it. Have fun.

Very inspiring, thanks for sharing

Well... welcome back (I think...???) In any case, it is my hope you find some enjoyment in whatever you choose to do😎 Those wood carvings look fantastic!