Life In China During the Epidemic, Let’s Go to McDonald's.

in #china4 years ago

After 44 days of isolation and most restaurants are still closed in Dalian for seating service….

The place is empty, the chairs removed and I can’t even get personal service. I need to use the dreaded automated kiosk which I personally hate, I am suddenly an employee paying the business. Never use the auto check out, you’re not paid to work there and it doesn’t make your bill cheaper. Plus someone loses a job (but in China, there are a few workers hovering making sure you didn’t cheat, cameras included).

I don’t often eat at McDonald's because it’s not so cheap here as it is in other countries when you compare the Cost of Living. But at least it is open and I do enjoy the sausage and egg McMuffin with a hashbrown and real coffee. The taste is the same except they don’t toast the bun or add butter.

Well, since business is so slow now they cook everything fresh. The French fries and chicken McNuggets are made to order. So I wait about 10 mins to get my food after I order. The menu is quite different from Canada. The classics are there of course but there are some significant differences.

Let’s take a look at the differences.


(I’ve been on planes and trains with someone enjoying corn on the cob, they brought it, it wasn’t served).

But really we all have different taste buds. So a business that wants to make money and satisfy its customers will adapt. Let me show you other things Dalian people like at McDonald's.

(Chicken Wings, Chicken Nuggets, and Chicken Strips are very popular at McDonald's. Due to KFC being their biggest competitor, also served in a bucket).*


(Why not some german sausage on scrambled eggs in an untoasted burger bun, for breakfast.)


OK, that one really baffles me. There is another I will share that baffles me most. But this is Top to Bottom, Ketchup and BBQ sauce, a piece of lettuce, a slice of grilled Pineapple and grilled Chicken breast, followed by mayo and the bottom bun.

One of the most Chinese things they have at breakfast is Congee, for those who don’t know it basically a thick rice soup with veggies and or meat in it. It’s actually a very healthy breakfast quite common in China. Pickled cabbage and bits of pork to bamboo shoots and a variety of other options. Often served with a cup of soya milk, hashbrown or something like a long unsweetened doughnut. I’ve had some of these combos before it’s quite good.

Well, that’s McDonald's in China. I hope you enjoyed.

Sort:  

Feels nostalgic to see pics of China now. How are you doing over there?

Some restaurants like KFC, Pizza Hut and McDonalds are better in China than Canada. The quality always seems better.

Well, the quality is debatable. I don't think it's bad. Just the true taste of home I miss, But the taste i get is close enough. I'm ok. just missing people, that face to face chat over a beer or coffee, human contact.

Why the isolation? Anyway, I like the cup corn option here too.
We have a app that gives you some deals where you can redeem items to entice you going back. At least, they have English on the items you need.

In China it's mostly Self imposed isolation people are just afraid to meet others if we don't have to. As coronavirus rates rise outside if China, the numbers are getting lower in China. But who knows the true numbers, just stay safe as best you can. 300k in the USA died from Swine flu and it was a secret for 10 years. So I take that into consideration.

Yes, the numbers if true are only the discovered/reported case. If untrue, then we in worse case.

Auto kiosk is great, man. Get with what’s what!

Posted using Partiko iOS

No, Auto kiosks make the customer an employee that pays the same. If Auto kiosks gave me a discount I'd be down for for it, But really, it's just a business asking the customer for more time or effort without lowering the price.

I like it because it's faster, I know my order is going to be right (especially a problem when speaking a second language), and lots of times I see deals on the kiosk I wouldn't otherwise know about!

I guess I should learn more about the kiosks.

Who cooks the food?
Robots?

people cook the food... for now. But they act like robots, it will be tough tell the difference in the future. McD's has everything down, even an Ape could do any job there. I worked the counter at McDonald's when I was in high school, maybe 1995 or 1996, and then i felt like a monkey could do the job. Worst part time high school job ever, I was happier raking leaves.

I would've thought robots would break out there first, but guess not.

The crisis is over?
People are moving about?

Depends where people are. My building in Dalian is open, but some friends are not allowed out. Some people are allowed one family member ever couple of days. I guess I am lucky to be able to go outside daily when so many can't.

Are the trucks keeping the stores full?

I'd say you lucked out, according to the apocalypse our news is painting.