Learning Chinese 中文 Intense 3 Month Course Challenge!

in #chinese3 years ago (edited)


Knowing I will be staying in Taiwan for the long run there was one thing I was giving myself a true challenge for my own self improvement. Learn Chinese... Speak and Write.

I have always kept it on the side lines for more than 5 years and decided to take a serious next level initiative. I have signed up for intense Chinese language learning class 101 (The Beginning Basic Course)

img_2274.heic
Requested Book Requirements

img_2297.jpg
wow... can’t believe I am a student again. :)

img_2298.heic
Class & School Introduction (Tsing Hua University - Taiwan)

In the beginning it seems like its easy going with basics - Hello, my name is bla bla bla. I like this and that~

img_2698.heic
Class keeps a low number of total students to be effective and focused.

At first, the homework seemed to be OK... not too bad.

img_2697.heic

After 3 weeks...... the intensity increased by quad fold and needed to memorize the Chinese characters.

img_2766.heic

img_2767.heic

There was only one way to learn Chinese characters...

READ - WRITE - REPEAT

and Again and Again and Again~~~

img_2986.jpg

img_3103.heic

READ - WRITE - REPEAT
READ - WRITE - REPEAT
READ - WRITE - REPEAT

and HELP each other and CHECK each other in need~
Overall there is still about 2 months to go and will update with progress as we keep on movin forward!!!

img_2943.heic Classmates gathered together to check on each other and help ififneeded. If one lesson is missed its extremely difficult to catch up....

Stay tuned!!~

I will post more followups on what I learned and some tips n tricks I realized~ All in all, Chinese is a very dynamic language and as challenging it may look, its actually pretty fun!

Thanks for checking out my blog!~ :)
to be Continued....

Update : I am really enjoying the art of Chinese characters... using a brush you can truly understand why the brush strokes are the way they are. I posted a video below. (First time on DTube)

Sort:  

Congratulations @whangster79! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

A successful meetup and its commemorative badge

Yay! 🤗
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points.
Continue earning Points just by using https://ecency.com, every action is rewarded (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).

Support Ecency, check our proposal:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

You got nice writing!!

Thanks UKTaiwan~ Using a traditional brush with water practicing helped a lot on understanding the strokes better and draw better lines. Its kinda like drawing in a way~

Ah nice man.. best of luck learning a new language.

Thanks Solo~ Yup! Its going back to basics again~~~~ :)

interesting to see the hanyu pinyin with the traditional Chinese character set.
All the best in your learning journey.

Thank you~ I understand now the difference in Traditional and Simplified Chinese. Both have its pros and cons. Pingyin is an amazing way to type Chinese!~ I had no idea~~~~ lolz.

you're welcome. I remember many years ago before pinyin, it was 注音符号。never understand that and glad pinyin came along.

Hey! I know I'm late but I would love an update on how your Chinese learning is going. I noticed that you are taking classes in person. What classes are they?

Hi~ Yes I have taken a class in a university for foreigners to take Chinese 101 class. This class basically teaches the basics of how to greet people, buy stuff, ask directions...ect are the main topics.

I have tried to use and app and use web internet based learning programs, however in my opinion... nothing beats to learn with a group of real people. Not from a zoom meeting or online. Language in my opinion needs a human to human connection to learn.

I am still not perfect but I can proudly say after learning the class I can understand 30% of what people say... the rest I use my own speculation and figure it out... hahahaha. So I still have a long way to go.

If there are any other questions let me know. I am in the same boat as you are... trying to figure out how to learn Chinese. Thanks!