MOTIVE ASSESSMENT

in #christian-trail6 years ago (edited)
  1. O LORD, thou hast searched me, and known me.

  2. Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:

  3. And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.
    Psalm 139:1&23-24
    U5duGyPSesHXZbWwTced5zArGwHrQkE_1680x8400.jpg
    When you study the 1st verse and the 23rd verse, it is as though there is a contradiction. In the 1st verse, the psalmist said God has searched and knew him already but comes to the 23rd verse asking God to search him again. What then is the reason?
    In the first search, when you read the subsequent verses, you will realize the psalmist was talking about God searching and understanding his physical actions and the reasons for doing them; whereas in the 23rd verse, he was talking about God searching his inward man.
    Like the psalmist, there are many believers working tirelessly for God with the mindset that they are worshipping Him when unconsciously and unintentionally, they are doing so for self centered reasons. Example, there are musicians who minister thinking they are praising God while unknowingly, they are doing so for fame and glory from men.
    In instances like that, it is only the Holy Spirit who can reveal the true nature of your heart to you and not just that but also deliver you from such unto a more righteous path. For this reason, it good to always open yourself for God to assess you and your deeds so that your labour in the Lord will not be in vain.

LIFE APPLICATION
Do not perceive yourself as perfect in your own eyes; rather, submit to the Lord always seeking His judgement of your deeds and yielding to His corrections and rebukes.

PRAYER
Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: and see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Sort:  

This post has received a 3.12 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @rosemaryhagan.