Can we talk about happiness?

in #christian2 years ago

Important question.

What is your happiness linked to?

  • An investor may link his happiness to the stock market.
  • An entrepreneur may link her happiness to her business.
  • & some people link their happiness to politics (who’s president, etc.)

Few understand the problem with this set-up…

I often link my happiness to this blog, which means I’m high on the days my content does well, versus being low on the not-so-good days.

This can be a straight roller coaster if I let it be.

Christians link their happiness to Christ.

They find steady joy in leaning on His word, giving themselves a much wiser perspective on life and how God is working in theirs (even though it may be hard to understand during any given moment).

Point is, their happiness is linked to a higher purpose.

All throughout this Hungry Beaver journey, I’ve been taking notes and tracking certain metrics such as:

  • Energy levels
  • How productive I feel
  • Engagement from you guys
  • My analysis of how well I’m hitting my goals

What’s funny is when I look at these metrics on a small scale, I’m often disappointed in myself (pretty normal outlook for most entrepreneurs, they say).

On the large scale, all I see is a net positive.

So what does all this mean?

It means our day to day efforts may not look so great on their own, but as long as we're staying on course with our overall mission, we're going to see progress.

The way I see it, all the time spent sweating the small stuff is nothing but a waste of time and energy, because all that matters is the big picture stuff when it's all said and done.

Instead of adding extra stress to my life, I should be putting my trust in God.

Having faith that he has me on this path for a reason.

Even though it may not feel that way in the moment...

So I'll ask the question again - what is YOUR happiness linked to?

  • Are your eyes set on your God-given purpose?
  • Are you actively working towards your higher calling to the best of your ability?

Ask Him these questions / talk to God daily and you'll find your answer.

Life is a marathon. Not a sprint.

And no one said the journey you're on was supposed to be easy.

"Casting all your anxieties on Him, because he cares for you." (1 Peter 5:7)

-Beavs

Like this post? Subscribe to my newsletter here.