My brother is doing his financial rampage again (2021.11.25)

in #christmas2 years ago

I walk in Szolnok. The weather is dark and cold. Depressing. My recent phone call to my brother is also depressing. I called him approximately 45 minutes ago. I asked him why he did not called me on the phone. He told me that he fell behind (missed paying) his phone bills, and that the phone service provider restricted his phone service, so he is currently unable to make phone calls. I also asked whether he is working or not. He told me that he is currently not working.

So he is continuing the careless financial rampage that he started in 2018.

I told him that it would be good if we could spend the Christmas together, and that I would visit him tomorrow to talk with each other in person. We agreed that I will call him tomorrow around 10:00 to see if he is even at home.

If everything goes well, then I will visit him tomorrow, but he did not sounded excited about spending the Christmas together. He acts as if he would not care about anything in life anymore.

I do not know why he is acting like this. This is very sad. Please, give me some strength.

img_0.9939436387546693.jpg

Sort:  

Keep calling him. He may be sad, but your phone calls may the little ray of light he needs to come out of whatever is making him sad. This little act can add up over time. I believe that it is the little things that can make a difference.

That is good advice.

Thank you for the suggestion. Of course I keep calling him. I called him approximately 30 minutes ago. Instead of picking it up, he wrote to me on Facebook Messenger. Finally he asked me how I am. I wrote "I am fine, thank you. And you?", then he wrote that he is fine too, but after I asked him if he will be at home in the afternoon, he wrote "I do not know". We agreed that we will talk later.

If everything goes well, then I will visit him today afternoon.

By the way, I also wrote to the vet on Facebook Messenger about the current condition of my Harris's hawk.

I don't know how you can help your brother, especially once you start living in a sailboat. I just hope that my upvote, my Hive Engine tokens !PIZZA, !ALIVE, !PGM, !LUV, and my request for #Ecency Boosting for your post helps you have a better life.

Sent 0.1 PGM tokens to @xplosive

remaining commands 0

Buy and stake 100 PGM token to send 0.1 PGM three times per day,
500 to send and receive 0.1 PGM five times per day
1000 to send and receive 0.1 PGM ten times per day

image.png
Discord image.png

@xplosive! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @savvyplayer. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Some people say that my brother could not process the losing of our mother in 2017, and this is why he is doing this. This is why he (indeed) does not care about anything anymore. Maybe they are right. I really do not know how could I help him. Probably the best would be to live with him again somehow.

Either, thank you so much for the support. This means a lot to me.

I also give you some !PIZZA.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings from Hungary.

We can always hope for the best. I don't know if you have relatives who can help you, since I believe they are your best bet in helping your brother.

I give you some !PIZZA and !ALIVE in return.

@xplosive! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @savvyplayer. (10/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I have only a sister, but she is mad at my brother for good reasons. I am also mad at him (also for good reasons), but I am still trying to help him. My sister says that I cannot and should not put his life on myself. His life, his choices. Everyone is responsible for his/her own life. And if I see it from this aspect, I say that she is right, but I still think that a family should help each other.

Maybe it would also be good if you celebrate Christmas at least with your sister if you can't be with your brother after you did your best convincing him to stay with you for Christmas.

Anyway, I don't know how responsible a person should be towards another person, especially for one with special needs such as a friend of mine with multiple mental as well as physical illnesses.

I give you a !PIZZA and !ALIVE with !LUV.

@xplosive! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @savvyplayer. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

This sounds difficult. Is your brother depressed? Family is so difficult to deal with sometimes. My daughter (who is 32) has little interest in anything. It is hard not to feel I have failed her terribly. She lives with bipolar disorder. She does not want to study. She could not get a job, and now she does not even look for one, and she does not try any form of self-employment nor does she have plans for the future. When I try to discuss or suggest anything, she gets angry with me.

All that I tell myself is that I know I love her and I did my best to raise her well. I still try to be kind, loving, and supportive. Even when it feels like that is not enough, what more can we do?

It sounds like you are there for your brother and you can only try to make suggestions. He is an adult (I assume), and you have many of your own problems. I think you can only do your best to be supportive and caring.

You know, sometimes just being around sometimes is enough even when it feels like it is not enough. I know this because when I am in the depths of a bad depression, it helps to know there are people who love me and care even when I cannot demonstrate to these people that they are being helpful. I think sometimes people get frustrated if someone doesn't appear to "cheer up," but just because someone still appears down... well, we may have done some good after all. You never know.

I hope things improve for your brother.

!LUV

Is your brother depressed?

I do not know (maybe), but depression is not a stranger to me either. Once I had dysthymia (a chronic form of depression), so I know what does it feel like.

He is an adult (I assume)

Yes. He is 27 years old.

I think you can only do your best to be supportive and caring.

I am trying my best, but no matter what I say to him, he is making his own situation more and more difficult. Yesterday we talked in person, and he told me that he bought a new smartphone (Huawei P40 Lite) for 62 000 HUF (approximately $189.95 USD). This is bad, because he already have a lot of debt, and this amount is approximately his monthly income.

To be honest, I even understand his financial rage at some level. The government does not care about us. The government intentionally keep us under the local minimum wage. But making so much debt is not the solution. Sooner or later he will have to face the consequences, and he will have to pay off his debts.

But I do not know how he is going to pay off a debt, which is (maybe more than) 10 times bigger than his own monthly income. He cannot even tell how much debt he has, and it seems like that he does not care about it either.

At least I am happy that he agreed that I can spend the Christmas with him. And the stranger family he currently lives with seems to be kind and loving. He lives with them for a little bit more than 1 year. Before that he lived with gypsies, who hit him, and stole his money, after he lived with them for years.

So there are many aspects for my brother that I am worried about.

Thank you for your supportive message.

I give you some !PIZZA and some !LUV.

Have a nice day and have a weekend.
All the best. Greetings from Hungary.

It sounds like there are many legitimate things to worry about. It is good that your brother is staying in a better place at least.

I don't know whether Hungary has programs to help people with out of control debt. In Canada, there is non-profit debt counselling, which are organizations who help by a) determining if bankruptcy is necessary, b) if not, they negotiate with creditors and work out a viable payment plan which is usually less than the amount owed and at a lower interest rate, and c) they give ongoing budget advice if desired.

Regardless of whether there is an agency that can help, he may have to declare bankruptcy. I know nothing about Hungarian bankruptcy law or even whether bankruptcy is an option there.

I used to think it was a shameful thing to go bankrupt, but life is difficult, things happen, and that is why bankruptcy exists as an option in many countries.

In Canada, bankruptcy makes life financially challenging (because your credit is shot to hell) for 7 years. Your brother is still young enough that this will not ruin his life.

(I should add a caveat that this is not financial advice, of course.)

I think most people know very little about the bankruptcy process in their country. I did not know the Canadian process, but a good friend of mine had some problems a few years ago, which is when I found out all about it. They let her keep some of her assets, like her inexpensive vehicle and her retirement savings plan.

Anyhow, it is great that you will be with your brother at Christmas, and, in my experience, most problems have at least one solution although it is not always easy and I fully realize that I am very privileged to live in a country like Canada. It is not perfect, but there are many positives and I try to be grateful.

I hope you'll be able to help him find the way out of this life situation.

I do everything I can, while I am also trying to find the way out of my current situation, which is a little bit different. I currently do not have debts, but both of us are living under the local minimum wage. Both of us need some kind of solution.

Thank you for the support. Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings from Hungary.

Hello dear friend @xplosive good day
I am very sorry about the situation you are living with your brother, maybe you should talk to him and see what he wants to do with his life, depending on it, you can give him your opinion about it, but you can't do more of that.
I hope that soon I regain my sanity
I wish you a great day dear friend

Honestly I already did more than giving my opinion to him. I helped him financially in 2018 to buy some food. Even after he betrayed me. I also bought him a mug to his birthday a few years ago. There was a written text ("The best brother" in Hungarian) on it. He (either intentionally or not intentionally) destroyed it later. And he did not bought me anything for my previous birthdays. He did not even visited me on my birthday this year.

Despite all the bad things he done to me in the previous years, I am still thinking about how could I help him.

Thank you for the support.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings from Hungary.

I agree that you should keep calling him and encouraging him, but, you cannot keep giving him money. I would say that he might have a depression problem that you are most likely not equipped to deal with.

Do they have public agencies that can possibly help you and your brother out? Helping with housing? Medical? Anything? I cannot believe that a country as developed as Hungary wouldn't have anything.

I would say that he might have a depression problem that you are most likely not equipped to deal with.

This is probably true, considering the fact I am trying to help him since he first betrayed me (2018).

I cannot believe that a country as developed as Hungary wouldn't have anything.

Me neither, but this is the harsh reality.

And I do not even consider our country well developed. We are really "out of EU" with the current politics and with the economy. All we have is propaganda on the streets. For example the question of "Would you raise the minimum wage?"

The government intentionally keep a lot of people under the local minimum wage. Even the local minimum wage (around $550 USD per month) does not meet the European Standards, let alone what I receive (nowadays my total income is around $470 USD per month).

And I heard about people, who live (survive, suffer) with even lower incomes.

And not to mention the fact that we have the highest VAT (27%) in the whole European Union.

You should feel sorry gor Bhutan! Theirs is 50%!

But they are in Asia. And their currency is worth much more than ours.

1 Hungarian Forint (HUF) is currently $0.0031 USD or €0.0027 EUR.

1 Bhutanese ngultrum (BTN) is currently $0.013 USD or €0.012 EUR.

Our currency is worthless. But at least our GDP is somehow much better than theirs.

The Hungarian GDP in 2020 is $155 billion USD.
The Bhutan GDP in 2020 is $2.409 billion USD.

That is true and yours is the highest in Europe. I cannot see why they don't provide anything for their people. It just doesn't make sense. Do they want to grow the country? You have to feed the people.

That is true and yours is the highest in Europe.

That is unfortunately not true. We are very far even from the top 10 of the EU list. We were the 21st in 2020. The first was Germany. I really do not want to degrade our country, but unfortunately our country is not as developed as you think.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@xplosive(1/10) tipped @harlowjourney (x1)
savvyplayer tipped xplosive (x3)
xplosive tipped savvyplayer (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!