Filming at the beach and some bioluminescence waves!

in #cinematography4 years ago

A few weeks ago I posted a video of bioluminescence waves that I filmed at both Venice Beach and Santa Monica Beach. It was quite a sight to see and while I was there I also filmed the sunsets and made some videos out of those. I wanted to share some photos and a link to that video so everyone who hasn't seen it can.

Here's the setup that I used to film.

IMG_20200510_194430.jpg

So this is my Black Magic Pocket Cinema Camera 4k (Its a mouthful I know). The lens I used is the sigma 18-35 EF and I used the Viltrox Speedbooster to attach it to my camera. For those who don't know and might care my camera is a micro 4/3 camera and the lens is an EF lens so thew speed booster allows me to adapt a wide variety of lenses to the camera. Anyway, for power I used a Sony battery and a smallrig power adapter to feed power to my camera. This way I can run my camera for about 3hrs. For media, I used my Samsung T5 1TB ssd.

IMG_20200510_194419.jpg

You can see on the batch of the camera I did some time-lapses and with this setup, I could record for almost 900 minutes. I was very happy with the end results and ill soon be posting some breakdown from these videos showing from beginning to end what I did, how I did it and everything.

If anyone has any questions or comments be sure to post a comment below and I promise to reply and answer anything that I can. Also Heres a link to the bioluminescence waves video. Enjoy!

Sort:  

Hi!! What's up man, this is so great, I love It. I'm new here and I just upload my first introduction post. I make photos and videos too. It's good to know that there are more photographers in this community. I don't have the Black Magic Pocket Cinema Camera 4k, but I'm just learning to do good things with my Canon 600D.

Nice to meet you!!😃

Albert.

Glad to have you on here and welcome!

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

@aperterikk, This looks gorgeous, but I'm still wondering what bioluminescent waves are... 😅 I feel a little stupid. Would you explain this to me, pls?

The very basic version is there are tiny organisms that live in the water and when they are disturbed (in waves and turbulence) they emit light. The conditions have to be right for them to survive like low pollution, warm water, a red tide. Stuff like that.

Wow, I had no idea of the existence of these living beings... They are magic. And of course, they aren't visible from anywhere, right?

They are usually microscopic so you could see them with a microscope. This type of thing can be seen all over the world. It just doesn't happen all the time everywhere like a sunset.

Thank you for clarifying, I'll keep follow your posts so hopefully I can see more of this, because I really liked it. Btw I just meant to ask if they are everywhere or just specific geographic areas. So I guess I've been just unlucky so far.. 😔 may be the fact that is more rare to see than a sunset is precisely what makes it more special than any sunset.

I dream about witnessing something like this during my lifetime😍😍

I hope you get the chance.

😍😍😍