As Good As It Gets (1997)

in #cinetv3 years ago


When it comes to romance and the likelihood of it happening between two souls, this film dances on the edges until the very end.

The performance by Jack Nicholson is simply astounding. He embodies the role of a moderately successful writer with obsessive-compulsive disorder living his life in Manhattan, New York. If you are already a fan of Nicholson you'll be pleased to hear that his usual charm is present and somewhat bolstered by the short-tempered and often oblivious character he potrays.



manhattan.jpg

image courtesy - Marcus Lenk



Carol Kennedy (Helen Hunt) is starring as the Manhattan waitress making ends meet to support her family, all the while having the pleasure of dealing with the arduous Melvin Udall (Nicholson) on a regular basis at the restaurant where she works.

Their interactions are a mixture of explosive emotion, pleasant wisecracks, and unsuspecting kindness which keeps the viewer guessing where their relationship will unknowingly end up.

There are also frequent encounters between Melvin and his neighbour Simon (Greg Kinnear) who lives in his apartment block. This gives way for some on the edge humour as well as an unexpected string of events which leads to interesting developments in both their lives.



cinetv.png


It's a real feel-good movie with some subtle nuances which amplify the production quality to great heights. I'll be looking out for other films with a similar appeal.

Budget: $50M
Box Office: $314.1M
Rotten Tomatoes: Tomatometer 85% - Audience 86%


Sort:  

I laughed my ass off seeing that scene when Nicholson introduce Carl and Simon and Simon's expression! Haha!
Nicholson is brilliant as always!

The interactions with Melvin and Simon are hilarious, it's amazing seeing the relationship transform as the movie progresses. It definitely has its highs and lows. Not to forget his dog either! That little guy was a great addition to the movie.

I'll see you around with this account or others I might have. I'll make sure to say hello.

Is this comment because I unfollowed? I just went through and followed and unfollowed folks whose content I haven't read much of lately. I've mentioned before that I don't like to consume much self-help-related content so that's a reason.

Will still see your posts in the main tag though as I usually look for posts in there the most.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That's an article or post. You made a comment. To make a differentiation.
After publishing it I saw you have unfollowed. So, your answer is no. The exact reasons for publishing it can be found in the text itself.

These are the few* that I've sent recently, before the following/unfollowing and before I headed out.

https://www.proofofbrain.io/proofofbrain/@calumam/qsqqsv
https://www.proofofbrain.io/proofofbrain/@calumam/qsqquh
https://www.proofofbrain.io/proofofbrain/@calumam/qsqr0b

edit*


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Too much to read from your content.
I understand your decision and I respect it. No ego has been inflicted.
I'll see you around!

I'm lost, can you send me over the comment you are referring to? If you have a look at my blockchain history you'll see the list of people I followed and unfollowed, sorry if it's caused a problem. I didn't mean for it to be perceived as anything more.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sorry, I thought you commented on my article.

I wanted to tell you that even if you have unfriended me, I will come by from time to time with this account or others to say Hello. There's no problem for me that you did. But this will not make me a stranger. So, I'll come by sometimes and Say Hi.Just so you know I haven't forget you.

Oh yeah, that's totally cool. It's nothing based on anything personal, trust me on that. I rarely use my 'Feed' and I stick with the main tags so I decided to follow some to see if I could cater my tastes a bit better. Still sticking with POB solely for now before I venture in deeper.

Glad that things are alright, wasn't sure where things were after the last interactions. Seen a handful of your content since then though and I've liked some posts (they're all above average, not saying they are bad, just some weren't to my particular tastes that's all*)

edit*
edit** they are good content, just not my tastes. feel like a dick saying "above average", lol.


Posted via proofofbrain.io