"Mississipi Grind" & "The Woman In gold"s Reviews - Ryan Reynolds challenge (34-35/49)

in #cinetv2 years ago (edited)

missisipigold.jpg

Editing by me

misissipi.png

To be honest I had some bad memories about that movie but that was only because I watched it too young I think.

This is not the best movie ever but there are some great things to see. The whole movie is about gambling addiction. And this is maybe the main critic I have to say about it.

The relationship between the two main character is so frustrating.

We have the character of "Ben Mendelson" and "Ryan Reynolds". They met at a poker table and start to chat in a bar. After some time they decided to gamble together and with some time, when Ben is totally broken and owe money to almost everyone, he borrows money to Ryan and they earn it together. Ben realize that he's way more lucky when he's with his friend.

That's where the sh*t is coming. He is starting to see Ryan Reynolds more like a lucky charm than a real human. We can see all the problem of addiction when he's destroying his life because he wants so much to earn money with gambling that he's selling everything he has to be able to play.

I don't really know what to add to this movie expect one thing. I hated and loved it. And I understand why the French title changed to "Under Pressure". I don't know why the new title isn't in french but who cares :')

There is so much pressure. Always, each time someone does something I feel like something bad is coming. He doesn't have any more money ? He sells everything he still has like car etc... We always just feel like the character are doing shit after shit and just finishing in way poorer conditions than how they started !

And personally I don't really understand how they can be pleased when the movie finished. For sure they can only be happier but

[SPOILER]

They win a lot of money, I don't remember how much. But when divided by 2 and after reimbursing everyone, the main character should only get 50k from it.
This is a lot, but he also has to buy a new car, find a new place to live so he can't buy a house with that.

[SPOILER END]

woman.png

I don't know why but I don't feel I have the energy to make a long review for this one.

And that's strange because this is an excellent movie. How could this not be, It's a trial movie with Ryan Reynolds, two things I absolutely love ! For me there are probably too many moment out of court but nevermind.

This is telling a true story about a woman Trying to get a pianting back from a museum. The painting was belonging to how family before WW2 and have been stolen by the Nazis before they quitted the country and that woman chose Ryan Reynolds to be the lawyer even if he's only starting his career because he's a friend of the family.

And that's pretty much all we have to say. The movie is pretty classic in his genre. We can see both the main characters becoming friends and sometimes having some tough moments together.

Cine.png

I encourage you to follow me on noise.cash where I make short posts about movies or series I just watched and to share your recommendation in the section about movies and earn some BCH.
The movies section is a little dead so I want you to make it alive with a lot of recommendation !!

My Current CINE Stake :

6 043


This is the list of the movies I'll review in the challenge :

red3.png

Join me on Noise.cash and read.cash and earn BCH for your posts and comments. Stake your earnings on Nexo and earn up to 8% APY in dividends.

Join me also on Publish0x
The website that rewards both readers and authors with ETH and ERC-20 tokens

HoneyGain.png

Share your unused bandwidth and get paid for that with Honey gain

Sort:  

Congratulations @ykretz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 64000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @erikasue!