Review: Iron Sky: The Coming Race

in #cinetvf2 years ago (edited)

I just finished watching this one and wanted to do the review while it was still fresh in my head. I don't even know where to begin with this one. I'll start with this... Think about every conspiracy you've ever read on the internet, then combine it into a movie and you'll get something that might resemble Iron Sky: The Coming Race.

Screenshot: iMDB

There might be a few spoilers here, but nothing that's going to ruin the movie or spoil the plot. We've got moon bases on the dark side of the moon, space Nazis, reptilians, the Vril society, hollow earth and much more that I either missed or already forgot about. There was a lot to follow here.

In Iron Sky: The Coming Race , the basic plot is about a group of people stranded on a Nazi moon base on the dark side of the moon. They've been there for several years after a nuclear war in I think it was 2018 🤣 As awful as it sounds, it's actually a pretty funny sci-fi/comedy.

I recognized a few of the actors here, like Udo Kier and Tom Green being two of my favorites in this film. I thought I saw all of Tom Green's movies, but I guess this one slipped under the radar somehow. The movie was produced in 2019 so it's only a few years old.

Tom Green and Udo Kier two of my favorites. Screenshot: iMDB

The movie is well produced but definitely has a sort of "B movie" feel to it. Personally, I love a good B movie from time to time. The plot is outrageous and wacky. If you're easily offended this one is probably not for you. Seriously, though, this film has something to offend everyone, at least by today's standards. I was actually surprised to discover it was produced in 2019. I will say it was done in a tasteful manner for the most part. I mean as tasteful as you can make a film about space Nazis on the dark side of the moon.

I also enjoyed the light hearted attempt at mocking practically every conspiracy theory to ever traverse the net. It was done in a fun way and made great subject matter. I also liked how they wrapped all up in one neat little package.

I found this movie streaming on Amazon Prime. It got 3.5 stars on Amazon Prime and 5 out of 10 stars on iMDB. I'll be honest I got pretty baked before I watched this film and found it entertaining and really comical. I may have been a little generous with my rating of 8 out of 10 stars. Still, this is exactly the type of "B movie" I enjoy. IMHO, this is prime B entertainment at it's best. Again, if your easily offended, stay away. If you're a conspiracy minded individual with a sense of humor, I don't see how you couldn't have a good chuckle with this one.

Screenshot: Amazon Prime

In closing, I think that's really what I liked about it. I wouldn't consider myself a conspiracy theorist, but more of a conspiracy buff. I probably researched every conspiracy in this film at one time or another. It was fun to see a clever person put them all together into a sci fi/comedy.

Dark humor at times, but this was a good one IMHO. See you on the dark side of the moon.

Image credits: Screenshots from iMDB and Amazon Prime.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @the-bitcoin-dood ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @gwajnberg!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@cine-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

Dear @the-bitcoin-dood,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Got my vote... We've needed this for a while now.

Thank you for your support @the-bitcoin-dood, really appreciate it! 👍

Is it a series of movies? I think I've seen them mentioned, but not watched any. Any better than Sharknado? I've only seen a few minutes of that and that was enough. Life is too short for bad movies.

It's a movie not a series. I think it was much better than Sharknado 🤣 I have weird tastes in movies though. I think the main reason I enjoyed it so much was because of the clever way they kind of tied all the conspiracies together.

I meant a series of movies. There was a previous movie in 2012. A lot of these conspiracies have become part of culture even if most people don't believe in them. We had a certain flat-earther at Hivefest, but I tried to stay friendly with him. I'm not sure if he pushes it to be contrary or if he actually believes it. Some like to think they have secret knowledge.

I saw that as well. I didn't see the first one, and there was really no mention of it in this film. I may have to watch that one too now. You really didn't need to see the first one to understand what was going on, at least I didn't. Didn't even realize there was a part 1 until I did the screenshots for this review.

We just finished watching Jojo Rabbit. That's a very different Nazi movie.

That's a new to me... just added it to my watch list.

Crazy plot ,eh? Thanks for the review
!1UP


Very crazy 🤣

U had me at dinosaur riding space nazi! 😜😎✌

but for real.. this was an awesome movie! did u see the first one came out in 2012?

image.png

I need to see that one. I discovered part one when I was doing the screenshots for the blog post. I think it was produced in such a way that it didn't matter which order I watched it in. Maybe I'll watch the first part tonight. 🤣 Have a great weekend! Cheers

Yea, it was for sure worth the watch. it's just fun.. nothing heavy.. :P