In love with Lisbon

in #city4 years ago (edited)


Lisbon, the capital and largest city of Portugal is one of the most charming, charismatic and beautiful cities in Europe. At every turn, Lisbon shows you how the symbiosis of a modern city and tradition can be achieved. And the heritage of this city is centuries-old and rich.



I put Lisbon on the list of cities I have to visit a long time ago. I cannot say whether the fascination with culture, fado music, history, architecture or acquaintance with the Portuguese was crucial in that. Probably all those reasons together.



Over the years, plans have changed from cycling tour through Italy, France, Spain, and Portugal, through car tour along the same route to summer holidays on the beaches of Lisbon. In the end, the situation, busy work schedule, and an incredibly cheap last-minute plane ticket decided that my first encounter with Lisbon would be an extended weekend just a few days before Christmas.



I say ‘just extended weekend’ with full authority. In this city, rich with locations and events, four days is hardly enough to get acquainted with the city center. Not to mention palaces, castles, and beaches in the suburbs. I had the impression that four days never flew faster than during my short stay in Lisbon. A couple of walks through its vivid streets and I was already checking my flight schedule.



The beginning of my encounter with Lisbon was marked by a sunset reflecting off the building facades, traditionally lined with ceramic tiles. That first contact was enough to say that I was not wrong when I put Lisbon on my 'must visit' map.



The city is beautiful, charming, amazing. Among its streets radiating with tradition, rich heritage and the intense spirits of ancient times, I felt like I found a long lost home. And one glance at his rooftops was enough to make me fall in love with his stunning and chaotic panorama.



Finally, that evening, as the traditional funicular tram drove me to one of the many hill gardens from which I watched the nightfall on the rooftops, I had to admit that with every step, narrow street, the paved square, the garden, the roof ... with every single part of this city I fully enjoy it. Enjoy it?!? 'Love it' are the right words.








Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://vd-photography.com/index.php/2020/03/28/in-love-with-lisbon/

Sort:  

Totally agree with you, Lisbon is a charming city. My one and only visit was for a day some years ago and I'm sure I barely scratched the surface. You packed a lot more in during your extended weekend.

By the way, in case you're not aware, @pinmapple (formerly Steemitworldmap on Steem) is now on Hive and we're the only curation guild dedicated to curating the travel community. You can find us on https://pinmapple.com/ and it would be great to see you pin this post on the map!

Thank you @livinguktaiwan for letting me know that my favorite Steem service is active on the Hive again :)
I added the code, hopefully, it will be enough for the robot to pick it up.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Check my last update here

Manually curated by the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest 805.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: