My Big Failure - A Brave Share

in #code3 years ago

Hi guys,

You know its not easy, but important to honestly share our failures.
Thats the only way to evolve.

I am a software developer, and as such, I value the benefits of a true retrospective.

It was a hot day, or maybe cold, I don't know, I went directly from the underground parking to the office.

I set down and connected my laptop. Then went to the small kitchen to fix myself a healthy breakfast. You can't code well without minerals and vitamins.
Its good for the brain and creativity.

But all they had in this small kitchen was some kind of bread and vegetables. So I went to the big kitchen where I found some waffels and made strong coffee to help shove it down.

I went back to my laptop because it started getting late and I don't like to code after lunch like the lazy juniors.

I went over the news, looked at stock market, then to the cmc and saw Bitcoin is still around 200$. Damn chinese for pumping and dumping, when will they pump again?

I went over emails and then I saw it.
It was redder than the red in that crypto winter charts.
My build failed.

I knew right away that this was someones else fault. But as a good developer, I needed to prove my colleuges mistakes.
Thats the hard part of my job.

I clicked the link to go over the useless logs of this failed build.

People that are not in the high-tech don't know that logs are meaningless. Nevertheless you must look at them to start the investigation and to validate your blame.

I saw quite close to the red error a log of a class I never touched. This is my target.

But then the unexpected happen.
While anotating the file (A fancy word for git blame) I saw my name.
Could it be I made a bug? That never happened to me before.

After a heavy investigation I found that while annotating I typed a space. So I removed that space and blamed the author of this peace of shit "class".

From that day on I remember to be humble, as I too, almost was partly responsible for a bug.

Sort:  

interesting story. I experienced similar things.