Horse Therapy Comic

in #comic3 years ago

Kontext2021.01_HorseTherapy.v2.jpg

I'm making a comic about horse therapy, or Equine Assisted Therapy. I didn't even know about it till I started doing research to make this, but it sounds cool. The very rough overview is that horses are prey animals and naturally skittish when possible danger is around. They need people and animals around them to be calm. So a person with anxiety has an instant feedback loop in the horse, if they aren't able to calm themselves, the horse will reflect that through their own behavior. Simply put, the more they can chill, the more the horse will want to be around them.

Obviously, there's more to it than that, so apologies to anyone who works in this clearly exciting area of alternative therapy.

What sparked my idea was seeing a picture of a young boy with a little pony, looking apprehensive. From there I just filled in the gaps ina more and more absurd manner. This is the first draft, but I'm super happy with this rough and simple style.

Sort:  

I don't know why the wingman horse amuses me as much as it does XD The graduation pic especially made me crack up XD I love the way your brain kind of went ahead and did its own thing with that idea XP

ps I still think you should post in one of the comics communities :)

Thanks ryvhnn, you know i agree, i'm just so intermittent with posting and at the moment i can hardly be bothered to post at all beyond quick instas. i'm sure at some point i'll get back into it again