Giving NFT’s Real Life Utility

in #comics2 years ago

130C67DA-FE87-42E5-AA04-A411D82813CD.gif

As San Diego Comic Con information breaks every hour on the hour it seems, one specific bit of news intrigued me a bit. Apparently the man, the myth, the legend…Mr. Todd McFarlane, hosted an after party on Friday night for a unique group of folks. Those folks?!? Holders of his and artist Steve Aoki’s Spawnoki NFT’s on Solana.

I remember seeing these pop up for sale a few months back and I was a bit hesitant. While Todd is my favorite Spidey artist and an all around lovely dude, these seemed a bit on the lame side. They didn’t do anything!!! Most of them were the same ol’ lazy thrown together pieces of reused Spawn art…but now in NFT form! I passed…but call me pleasantly surprised from the news that his SDCC exclusive party was attended exclusively by Spawnoki holders.

Now I can’t speak to the quality of that event, but I do appreciate that holders were given a special real life perk in the attendance of a special event. Apparently there was a bunch of giveaways, some grub, and meet and greets. I’ve been waiting to hear and see more of this type of perk and use case, so “kudos” to Todd for dipping his toe into these strange and uncharted waters.

I also want to give a big congratulations to this gentleman that was at that exclusive event and won a badass Venom sketch by the man himself. If you are knowledgeable at all on Todd’s art, you’ll know that he really doesn’t sketch anymore. Just on Very rare occasions these days. That combined with his published original art being a costly ghost the rare few times it rears its head, this bad boy could easily fetch thousands. Not a bad prize to win for buying a Spawn NFT.

774C0055-A3C9-452F-8D24-266162E254BD.jpeg

I yanked these photos from the winner on FB this morning.

I love the idea of real life benefits being incorporated into NFT’s. I mean…the sky’s the limit here. It’s all about seeing how creative folks can get in rewarding their holders and fans, with cool and unique perks. Events like this are just the tip of the iceberg. Excited to see how this all evolves in the coming years.

Blewitt

Sort:  

That is really cool! I love the idea of NFTs used as “membership” cards of a sort. It’s on my very long to-do list to convert my old Fundition reward tiers into NFT equivalents.

Yeah. I think the sky is the limit. Creative people will find fun and unique ways to extend benefits to their fan base. Exciting times ahead.

SPAWN!! 🤘🤘🤘🤘🤘

Still popular as hell. On issue 331!!

thats SPAWNsome! 😁 IMO J.lee is just a cut above the other artist, at least for his style that I really like.

or was it mcfarlane that drew spawn or just created him? idk, but i remember image comics as being my favorite.

😎🤙