Snagging Some New Spidey Art!!!

in #comics3 years ago

img_9235.jpg

Throughout the years, many masterful artists have penciled my favorite superhero in Spider-Man. One artist who somewhat recently held that assignment is the Incredible Italian...Giuseppe Camuncoli.

Camuncoli penciled Spidey for a while in waves on The Amazing Spider-Man...the Web Head’s flagship title. I fell in love with his work immediately and in my conquest to acquire original killer Spidey art, have been searching high and low to try to find a page by him to add to the ever growing collection.

Well the search is over as I finally snagged a delicious page. It took a few years but once this became available, I had to have it. Before I get into this specific piece, let me just say that his original art...specifically Spidey art...just doesn’t show up. I saw someone post an awesome Amazing Spider-Man cover they got a few months back in a private deal...but typically this stuff just doesn’t make it out onto the open market. So when this page popped up, I had to act quickly and pounce.

Art dealer Essential Sequential posted it and was kind enough to work out a payment plan which always makes it more manageable. So thanks to Jason over there for being a swell fella and working out the plan with me. It took a couple of months but the moment I had it paid off, I got a tracking number and it arrived a couple of days later. Safe and sound.

We settled on a price of $1800 which was a couple hundred less than the $2000 they were asking. That might seem a tad high to sone of you, but in the original comic art game...I learned not to second guess myself. It’s a hard lesson to learn in this hobby as there are only 1 of everything...so if you miss your opportunity on a specific piece...you are most likely screwed.

This page checks all the boxes for me.

  • Camuncoli Art ✔️
  • From The Amazing Spider-Man ✔️
  • Features Anti Venom & Spidey ✔️
  • Splash Page ✔️

I can go on and on but I won’t bore you....at least tonight I won’t.

So without further ado...

img_9213.heic

The page is from Amazing Spider-Man #664. It’s the opening page and features a brooding Anti-Venom who’s about to rip off Spidey’s mask. Spidey as you can see...is a tad fucked in this beautifully constructed piece. Here is how it looks in the actual comic all colored with sone dialogue for context.

img_9207.jpg

Another added bonus to this piece is having the legendary Klaus Janson on inking duties. Janson is well know for working along side Frank Miller on his memorable run on Dardevil and Batman: The Dark Knight Returns.

Man I’m pumped to add this to the gallery! I’ll be getting this framed up in this next batch this coming week along with a few other awesome pieces. Gotta wait for Michael’s to run their 70% off framing specials as this shit gets super duper expensive. Luckily they are doing another one this coming week for Black Friday. I’ll pop up a piece once all done!

Anyway, thanks for taking a look with me. I have not been around these parts much lately as 2020 has just been a strange year overall, but I’m trying to get back into routines again...this being one of em. So hopefully you’ll be seeing more crud from me in the coming future.

Much love to you all and stay safe!!!

Blewitt

Sort:  

Nice piece. Good to see you post here again. It has been a strange year, but I hope 2021 can be better. I expect any type of retail business has taken a hit.

See you around!

!BEER

Yeah. I’ve popped up here and there this year but have mostly lurked or have taken long hiatuses. Trying to get back into a groove again. 2020 was definitely interesting across the board. A year to remember. Lol

There's been some stuff this year that you would consider silly if it was in a comic. Hoping for more normality next year.

That's some sick art, man. Glad to see you haven't been finger fucked to death by one of your customers, by the way.

Thx brother!!! Lol

Don’t worry...there’s still time for that.

With your job, I'm sure it's only a matter of time before you're found dead in the back room covered in grease, mold and gamer gunk from one of your customers. You poor, poor man.

Also, my Pop addiction has gotten pretty bad. I blame you in part :)

Saw this over on FB and so glad you shared more about it here. It’s beautiful and I’m jealous! I love the original art collection you’ve been building.

Thanks sir! I have some other cool shit to show off shortly as well. I have not been as active here as I would like so I am going to really try to get my ass on track. How is the book coming along?

Only minor progress to report unfortunately. But like you I hope to get back to sharing more updates & getting more productive soon.

Gotcha...it's been a weird year...lol....let's catch up after this coming weekend and do a chat, brother.

Sounds great. I just had to really dig to find an old conversation I had with @steven.nam, but I thought maybe you should check this site he recommended out. Apparently they make high quality archival frames that still allow the art/comics to be switched out. As your collection grows it might be nice to rotate some pieces rather than get them all framed up individually at Michaels.

That’s a pretty cool idea. I glanced em over real quick. Yeah, he was a cool dude. Wish he stuck around.

I've planned out my pipe dream original art collection and envisioned having most pages stored in portfolios and brought out on display in the more modular frames. Depending on wall space, if you get up to a couple dozen pages+ it just doesn't make a lot of sense to frame them all individually!

Yeah, I miss a lot of the folks who have come & gone. But I'm always encouraged when some turn back up. And I do believe more active days are ahead... bull markets tend to bring the people in!


Hey @blewitt, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

great piece for the collection, never thought they cost so much, well I know nothing about this art but looks cool

Yeah, the original comic art game has in recent years...exploded to insane levels. As more folks want a piece of their favorite storyline, artists, character...and realize there is only 1 of that specific piece out there...it’s just going to continue to grow. Ugh. Lol