4 Days Left to Get the Complete Comic Series "East of West" and More by Johnathan Hickman

in #comics4 years ago
Authored by @bryan-imhoff

by @bryan-imhoff via @exploreunlimited


If you're a #comics fan and you're not keeping an eye on https://www.humblebundle.com/, I would heartily recommend that you start! I'm even signed up for their email list just to know when some great new comic offers surface.

While primarily known for offering big discounts on games, Humble Bundle also branches out into other software and various packages of eBooks and digital comics. I've snagged an iPad full of great content over the years for minimal cash, and all while supporting charity, which is a big component of Humble Bundle's mission and brand.

Currently on offer is a package of comics featuring the storytelling of acclaimed writer Johnathan Hickman. Don't let my screenshot below fool you (I've been dragging my feet on getting this written...) because as of this posting there are only 4 days left to purchase, so hurry over if you're intrigued!


Hickman Bundle 01.png


Hive seperator.png

As is common with these deals, there are several different tiers of support you can pledge, which result in increasing amounts of comic goodness. While $1 for the initial unlock is a steal, I'm a digital hoarder and can never resist getting the full package, which in this case is $15, regardless of how long it'll actually take me to getting around to reading these!

A number of Hickman's creator owned properties are represented, such as The Dying and the Dead, Black Monday Murders, and The Manhattan Projects. However, the big draw here is East of West.


Hickman Bundle 02.png



Hickman Bundle 03.png



Hickman Bundle 04.png


East of West was a very well received comic series which began in 2013 and recently concluded in December of 2019 with its 45th issue. I honestly don't know much about the tale, except for the fact that I've heard an abundance of comic readers espousing its virtues.

The book is described as

a science fiction western set in a dystopian version of the United States whose fate rests with the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.

That sounds like a pretty good "elevator pitch" to me! I'm glad to have the full story at my fingertips now, patiently waiting for me to read it... and when I do, I'm sure you'll hear about it right here on @exploreunlimited!

Now if that doesn't sound like your particular cup of tea, I'd still tell you to swing on over to Humble Bundle. Right now they also have a couple bundles of prose fiction that I'm eyeing up and just might pull the trigger on... one focused on the Warhammer 40K universe, and the other on the Forgotten Realms.

Whatever geekiness floats your boat, treat yourself to a nice gift while giving to charity as well!

Hive seperator.png

- Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff

@bryan-imhoff


Exploring the Unlimited brings you comics reviews and related information, with a focus on stories available on todays online platforms such as Marvel Unlimited, DC Universe and Comixology Unlimited, which help make thousands of comics accessible and affordable worldwide.

All photos taken by @bryan-imhoff and are copyright their respective owners; used here under fair use for review and criticism.