You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Arsenic Lullaby Short comics and comic book page layouts explained

in #comics6 years ago

That's cool. I read Understanding Comics recently. I'm not sure if it mentioned this technique.

Sort:  

I'm not sure if it did. Will Eisner did a book to that's pretty good. I might have picked that technique up originally from an articlue about Carl Bark's Scrooge McDuck comics...you gotta learn from any place you can y'know.

Could you recommend any other books or articles on that kind of comic theory? I love how in Comics you have these kind of unique storytelling principles and even if I don't use them, I would at least love to know about them, while reading other peoples works :)

I had a giant binder at one point full or articles and stuff I culled, and interviews where some master would mention something...but that's not going to do you much good. Will Eisner and Scott Mccloud both did some good books on the matter ( I forget the titles, but they are easy to find in a search). Here's a link to some other blogs I did on it...I haven't looked at them in pretty much since I wrote them, so they might be filled with typos or even be missing pictures from when I lost some files. But they're might be a thing or two worth looking at http://www.arseniclullabies.com/misctechniqueshome.html

Thanks man! I have all of Scott McClouds books and those really changed my perception about the whole medium, but I definitely have to check out the ones by Will Eisner as well! Definitely going to read your articles :)

Here’s a good book.
http://twomorrows.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=201
I also just highly recommend most of the output from TwoMorrows publishing. Draw Magazine is excellent!