You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Producing my first block & finally more snow is coming

in #community3 years ago

Congrats on your first block.

Your post makes me want to ski! Although I'm still enjoying sunbaking in the sunny 23C Tel Aviv winter.

I also wanted to draw you attention to the fact that it is possible to run a full Hive API node on a fairly basic machine (4/8 Core modern CPU 64Gb RAM and 2Tb NVME)

I'm planning to upgrade my witness node to an API Node soon and run another machine as primary witness.
You may also be interested in doing so.

Sort:  

Baking in the sun sounds great too, would also love to do that right now ;)

Thanks for the hint, I thought about that, but I guess I need to upgrade my server first. Right now I am running an AMD Hexa-Core, 64GB of RAM and 1TB NVMe SSD, so i think this is a little bit tight for running a full node. It should be possible however if I upgrade the server to 128GB and add a 1 TB SSD, or what do you think?

According to @blocktrades 64Gb is sufficient.
You just need to stick in another 1Tb NVME for around $100.

The API node needs to be publically facing while the witness needs to be private. This can be managed by having the API Node private but with a very light public facing server (on another IP address) running jussi and forwarding the API calls to the private API node.

@techcoderx has implemented this.

That doesn't sound too bad. I guess adding another SSD should be no problem. I will check out how @techcoderx has implemented it and maybe I can find some time to upgrade my node in the next weeks!