Two Generations Before Me (Who Are They?)

in #community6 years ago

Capture.PNG


A grandparent is a little bit parent, a little bit teacher, and a little bit best friend.


14102262_1070922942963710_6426503970471419693_n.jpg


Strict and Soft


Live a life that has purpose. A life that would make people remember you, not because of who you are, but because of what you have done.

Meet Celestino Linao Sr. He's my late grandfather on my mother's side.

I remembered him as someone that is very strict. My sisters and cousins, including me, are afraid of him. A little. Especially when it's almost raining.

When we were kids, we loved to play in a wide grassy area, just a few meters from my grandparents' house. Then my grandpa would always sit outside, facing our direction, observing people and just watching the surroundings.

He was actually very peace-lover and a disciplined man.

Before the sun rise, he would wake up and brought his fishing materials to catch fish in the sea? Our town is actually near the water bodies. Sometimes, when he didn't feel like fishing, he would still wake up and grab his coffee in our terrace. People, the same age as him, would gather in our terrace and talk about many things.

I was in my second grade when he was diagnosed with a Lung Cancer. I seldom see him outside since then. His routine changed and he started resting inside.

That time, I didn't understand everything that happened. All I know is that it's just a simple sickness that will be cured immediately. But months passed and he wasn't.

One time, he was outside, doing his old routine, when I went to him and offered him a Mentos candy given by my Lola Bening. He didn't take one though. But he told me something that until now, gives me a good motivation to do good things.

Live a life that has purpose. A life that would make people remember you, not because of who you are, but because of what you have done.

That time, I know he's kind of saying goodbye. I cried a little. But he scolded me. A little.

Recognition day came in school. I was awarded being an achiever, given a medal. I asked my mother that I want to visit my Lolo in the hospital and show to him the award. But they didn't allow me for I am still a child and I might catch disease then.

Tomorrow came, until the sun was changed by the moon. And I saw people bringing a coffin inside my grandparents' house. That, I realized that he passed away.

He may be gone physically but his memories will always remain in my mind. His lessons will be planted and forever I bear them until I make them reality.


2.PNG


Kikay


She is Silveria Linao. She's my grandmother in my mother's side. She's the wife of my Lolo Celestino.

I describe her as someone that is very kikay. She knows what to wear and she likes wearing jewelries, especially earrings.

She knows how to sew dresses and such things.

When I visit their house, I usually see her with her sewing machine. Sometimes, I would ask her to teach me how to use the machine. I was able to make bags because of her.

She's very religious. Every Halloween, she would call for me and together we visit houses within our place to offer prayers for the dead.

Every Friday, I would wake up without her, when I was living in their house. She would wake up early to go to the mini-chapel and offer our patron prayers.


1.PNG


Fighter and Caring


She is Benedicta Casio. She is my Lola Silveria's older sister. She was actually married but got separated by her husband.

She was the one who took care of the three of us (me and my sisters) when we were young. Every weekdays, we live in her house and every weekend, my parents would get us. That's the routine for almost 7 years of my life.

I always remember her as someone that I find a little bit scary. Haha! But she is very caring. She would never allow her loved ones being bullied.

Every morning, she wake us up for school. She prepared our food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. She's the one who do our laundry. Sometimes, I help her.

One time, when my classmate bullied me and pulled my skirt down, I cried and told her about what happened. What I didn't realize is that her coming in school and scolded my classmate for doing that. Another time was when my sister bought marshmallows and someone stole it away from her and ate it, she also scolded the boy.

I love her dishes especially the Ginamay.

She is very supportive in our school. She would encourage us to join school activities and cheer us.


24068264_1794281144203785_6000254994474323975_n.jpg


Best Friend


She is Anatalia Fuentes. She is my grandmother on my father's side.

I find her very talkative and full of stories. Haha! I could call her my best friend because it is easy for me to share my problems and happy experiences with her.

As I watch this picture of her, I always think of how beautiful and strong she is.

I would say that she is one of a cool Lola to her grandchildren and a very loving mother to her children. Her life is not easy. She experienced many bad things in the past but she remained strong and stronger as the time passes by.

She was my model of being a mother. A woman who will defend her children against the people who would try to hurt them. She is a woman who will sacrifice what she has just to avoid her love ones suffering instead.

I always remember those times when she tells me her stories of love, strength, and downfall, and how she always rise up.

It was very easy for me to open up on her because she is like an empty book of mine which I can write my stories inside. She is willing to listen to my wails. She is ready to give me advises.


I am very thankful to have them in my life. Without them, I know, my life today will be different, and maybe, I will not be born.

Despite their differences, I love them and will always be. I will always cherish them in my heart.

Their part of my future I am building . I wanted to give them a life full of bliss.

Just like how they made my life colorful with them.

Sort:  

Heartbreaking I just miss my lola, thank you for this content and I agree in everything that you mention. =)

hi, how are you

select me friend

good post !!!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Your blog really touch my heart, I miss my lola and lolo because they took carw of us when we were kids. :'( I happy that my grandparents in my mother side are still alive. :-)