A Mid-Week Meal and Fun Family Visit

in #community2 years ago (edited)

Amazing bubble gum machine, right? 25 cents for a gumball?? I know, but it's really the show you are paying for as when you put in your quarter and turn the knob, the gumball spirals down round and round the color changing stand it is on and when the show is over, your gumball can be retrieved from the bottom dispenser that has a hinged lid that keeps it from flying out on your feet !

Of course you know I posted this amazing bit of flashery to get you in here, right ??

Not only that though, the woman behind will forever be taking that bite, over and over on the blockchain ! 🙂

20220511_192348_Burst01-ANIMATION.gif

One of the gifts my brother gave my Mom for Mother's Day was a trip to the restaurant of her choice for a fun meal and visit. She chose the La Cocina restaurant. My brother had emailed "the sisters" to see if anyone wanted to join them. We all wanted to go, but at the last minute, one of my sisters was not well and couldn't come.

building outside.jpg

My brother and I got there first and asked for a seat on the patio, it was a beautiful, warm spring evening, perfect for outdoor dining.

We had gotten there about 5:30, so there weren't many people there at first.

outside.jpg

Eventually we were joined by his wife, my mother and my sister.

fam.jpg

It didn't take long before there was salsa and chips delivered to the table as is customary in a Mexican restaurant.

salsa and chips.jpg

Soon after my brother had them also bring some queso too. mmmmmmYUMMY ! So we dipped chips and visited while waiting for our supper.

salsa and queso.jpg

Although it was early evening and the sky was still amazingly blue, the moon was already hanging there, wishing it could have just a little bite of those chips.

moon.jpg

I decided to try something I had not ordered before. It was called the Special Quadalajara. It had a tamale, 2 flautas and 3 nachos. I ordered the flautas to be served on the side as I don't like gooey things touching them and making their crispy fried outsides soft before I get them. I was amazed though to see that the triple nachos were all on one plate, with sections of hamburger, chicken and steak. It didn't say anything about being enough food to feed three very hungry people ! ha ha

special guadalajara.jpg

Needless to say, most of the nachos are in my frig now. The tamale was on top of the nachos under some kind of chili concoction. I didn't really like their tamale, but ate the center out of it anyway.

nachos.jpg

I enjoyed the flautas a lot though.

flautas.jpg

There was quite a feast going on at our table !

chowing down.jpg

Afterward I took another photo across the patio where there were now more people.

later more people.jpg

What I was really after though, was this man who was part of the wait staff, that had armfuls of some amazing tats. I kept hoping I would catch him closer to our table, but alas, I had to camera stalk him from a distance.... and this was the best I could get.

😄

tats.jpg

We had a good meal and a very fine visit. As the sun slowly set lower in the sky, there came a breeze, which felt good at first, but eventually it became slightly chilly, so we decided to go.

20220511_181433_Burst01-ANIMATION.gif

I had not taken photos coming in, so took a few on my way out.

leaving bar area.jpg

The decor was so colorful and fun.

leaving 3.jpg

.... and that's when I spyed the gumball machine I posted first. I took a nice burst of photos to make the animation.

leaving 4 gum.jpg

Gotta luv a fun colorful atmosphere.

leaving 5 dining room.jpg

Excuse me, but I believe you lost your mustache !

mustach.jpg

I have not been out to restaurants for meals much since covid set in. This was the third time and I did like the idea of eating outside still, so it worked out nicely.

It was a pleasant, midweek family visit and I had a wonderful time.

Hope you are all doing well.

Love you !

Jacey

Sort:  

And the G-dog wasn't invited. Hmm...

Uh Oh !

Would it help at all to know I may have eaten enough for both of us ???

I know right? Talk about oversight of the century.

But yes, if you are enough for the both of us, my stomach is content.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I love the lady's bite forever committed to the blockchain lol!

Call me a dinosaur but I am not a fan of Tattoo Man, heck not even big seeing them on chicks...I know I am so old skool. LOL.

I so want to go to that place! Hard to find a spot that gives some decent portions. Added to my bucket list lol.

I love the capture of the lady taking a bite myself. I was focusing on the gumball machine, so didn't see it till after I was home and made the gif. I sat there and watched it a few times over and over.

I don't want a tat for myself and I have seen plenty of people covered with them that I didn't think looked too great, but sometimes, someone will have some neat ones and they are just proportioned right .... .or something and I like them.

There was certainly no skimping on these plates !